2017: My year so far, and where I want to go from here

Hello lovely readers!

Today we’re going to take a short walk down memory lane and reflect on how my 2017 has been so far, in terms of reading, writing, and blogging.

My Reading So Far

I have read 6 books so far this year:

To Hear the Ocean Sigh by Bryant A. Loney – ★★★☆☆

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria – ★★★★★

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill – ★★★☆☆

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – ★★★★☆

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate – ★★★★★

Monstress Volume 1: Awakening by Marjorie M. Lui & Sana Takeda – ★★★★★

All in all, it’s been a pretty decent reading year in terms of my enjoyment of books. I’m averaging a book a month, and as all of you know that’s mostly due to my own poor time management skills. I did go through a slump recently, but for the most part the fault is all mine. Really, I didn’t know I was so bad at managing my time until recently/

My Reading Goals

While I’ve already surpassed my Goodreads goal, I still have a couple of ARCs that I would like to get to soon so that I can start tackling my own book collection again! Luckily, I’ll be going on a week-long vacation with no wifi, so hopefully I’ll be able to use that time to get through them. I read 3 books when I went on this trip last year, so my goal is to read the same amount again this year.

My Writing So Far

I fell off the writing train for a while, mostly because of my own lack of creativity. I have had a couple of ideas, but I just haven’t made the time to sit down and think through them. I’m not sure if others have this problem, but I often think of characters before I come up with actual plots for these characters to go through. It’s definitely a problem I’d like to work on over the next couple of months.

My Writing Goals

I definitely want to start making the time to write at least once a day, even if it’s only brainstorming for 30 minutes. If I want to be a serious writer/author, I need to make the time to practice the craft that I love the most. I’m considering starting a series on Wednesdays where I post writing exercises based on the prompts in 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto. What do you think about that? Good idea or bad idea?

My Blogging So Far

Fun fact: yesterday marked one year of me on WordPress! I am so grateful for everyone who has given my tiny, inconsistent blog a follow. I know blogging is starting to become a little passé to a lot of people, so the fact that some of you stick around with me is kind of mind-boggling, and super humbling. I haven’t been the best at it, but…

My Blogging Goals

… I’ve been doing some research, and my goal is to be a more consistent blogger, at least for the rest of the summer. I’m still finding my footing, but I also want to start working on an actual schedule, and incorporate blog post planning into my routine alongside reading and writing. Here’s hoping I can buckle down and actually get to work!


What about you guys? How has your reading, writing, and blogging been this 2017? What are your goals for the rest of the year? Let’s chat in the comments!

As always, I hope you all have a wonderful week, and I’ll talk to you all soon!

~ Becca

 

Leave a Reply

