Sequels I Haven’t (Yet) Read (1/?)

Hello readers, and happy Friday to you all!

I feel like I am the absolute worst when it comes to reading sequels. I may absolutely love the first book, but there are so many other books to read that I end up forgetting to read the follow-ups, even though I buy them. Sequels often sit on my shelf, staring me down in shame while I sleep. Honestly, the fact that this is part 1 of who knows how many posts should tell you just how bad I am at continuing series.

Anyway, today we’re going to start with 3 series I have yet to continue. Today’s theme is going to be “Books I gave 5 stars but whose sequels I haven’t gotten to”

1. Reboot by Amy Tintera

reboot-cover

My boyfriend gifted me the Reboot duology for our first Christmas together, and I read this first book very soon after. I clearly loved it, giving it 5 stars on Goodreads, and yet I still haven’t read its sequel, Rebel. I really cannot tell you why I haven’t picked it up yet – is it because I fell behind on my ARCs? Is it because I’m worried it will not be able to live up to the expectations set by the first book? Am I just way too worried about the characters? The honest answer is all of the above, probably.

2. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project

After I read this book I gave it to my grandmother to read. She ended up loving it so much that she bought me the sequel, The Rosie Effect. I started reading it, but I found myself getting really antsy when things started going wrong for the main character, and I grew so uncomfortable with the situation that I had to stop reading it. I get too emotionally invested, and sometimes that investment gets in the way of my reading. I’m not sure when I’ll pick up The Rosie Effect, but I’m sure my guilt will eventually force me to pick it back up.

3. The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus

The Gypsy King

Clearly, I enjoyed this book enough to give it a 5-star rating when I read it in 2013. Once again I picked up the sequel, A Fool’s Errand, prepared to plough through it, but my emotions got the best of me and I had to stop reading it. I just got way too invested in the characters and became too concerned about how things were going to work out. It sounds really weird when I type it out, but I also wonder if it is now something I’ve outgrown. Maybe if I try reading it now I’ll actually be able to get through it!

4. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen

The honest reason why I have not read A Crown of Wishes is that I got so overwhelmed by all the other ARCs I had to read that I fell into a slump. I had an ARC of ACOW, but ended up pre-ordering a finished copy so I could get the novella Night and Death and because I needed to have both of these pretty books on my shelf. I am hoping to be able to finally read it within the next month, but who knows at this point.

5. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

crooked

I can’t even think of a reason for having not yet read Crooked Kingdom besides my endless TBR pile. I pre-ordered the SoC box set to get some pre-order swag, and I’ve taken plenty of photos of it on my bookstagram, but I never did when up reading it. I’ve managed to avoid most spoilers, thankfully, so hopefully it’ll still have the same force on me when I read it that Six of Crows had.


 

That’s about it for today, folks! Is anyone else as bad at reading sequels as I am, or am I alone in this?

Thank you so much for reading, and we’ll chat really soon!

~Becca

Leave a Reply

