My Bookish Resolutions: April Update

Hello everyone, and happy Friday!

Today I’m going to be discussing how my bookish resolutions have been working out so far – have I been keeping to them? Have I given up? Read on to find out!

Resolution 1: Read Every Day

Ha. Ha. Ha. As you have likely clearly seen, I haven’t been reading every day until recently. You know, school’s the usual excuse. I have, however, created a new schedule for myself that involves reading at 9 o’clock to calm myself down enough to go to bed at 10. I haven’t been following it perfectly, but it’s better than nothing!

Resolution 2: Read More Sequels

The only sequel that I have read this year is Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton, which I am still currently reading. I’ve had a lot of ARCs that I’ve wanted to get to, and I don’t read quickly enough to get through them all in a short amount of time.

Resolution 3: Buy Only Sequels

This is one resolution that I’ve actually been pretty good about! I’ve only bought 3 books this year: A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi, King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, and Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch. While ACoW is technically not a sequel, it is a spinoff from The Star Touched Queen, so I counted it as a sequel (my love for Chokshi made me break this rule tbh). I’m pretty proud of myself for only buying 3 books this year!

Resolution 4: Use the Library

I actually have been good about this, too, borrowing Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton before reading TttT. That’s pretty much it, though I plan to use it a lot more for other hyped books.

Resolution 5: Don’t Pressure Yourself with a Reading Goal

LOL I’ve already surpassed my reading goal of 3 by reading 4 books, which makes me very happy. It’s kind of freeing, in a way – and it’s fun to see the percent bar go above 100%. A false sense of accomplishment to make me feel like I’m being productive!


Did you make any bookish New Year’s Resolutions? How are they going for you? Let me know in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

~ Becca

One thought on “My Bookish Resolutions: April Update

Leave a Reply

