Book Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

DISCLAIMER: this review was originally written and posted to my booklr (bookish tumblr) on MARCH 7th, 2015, and is being archived on this blog. This review contains my thoughts on the book at the time that I read it, but I have not re-read it since then, so my feelings about the content may have changed.

 

irong-king

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Date of Publication: February 1st, 2010

Dates Read: February 27th – March 7th, 2015

Description:

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Buy It From: Indigo | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My rating: ★★★☆☆

I have mixed feelings about this book. I really, really wanted to give it 4/5, but there were a couple of things holding me back.

The good: I like the idea behind the plot, especially since I haven’t really read any fey/fairy books. The writing was good (I’m a little biased because her writing style is very similar to mine), though the descriptions were a little lengthy. I also like that the Nevernever isn’t some fantasy land; it’s dark and treacherous, and not everyone is nice. I mean, I was a little annoyed that there were very few people who were actually kind and weren’t bitchy, but on the other hand it’s refreshing to see a darker side to the fairy/fey idea. Pace was pretty okay, and there were a couple of parts that had me on edge or squealing like a fangirl.

The bad: Okay, first of all, I’m sorry but Meghan was just so… reckless. Honestly, the girl needs to stop throwing out favours all willy nilly. I get that she’s not used to the way the Nevernever works, but it should not take her that long to realize that A. oaths are binding and should not be taken lightly, and B. iron hurts, stop suggesting hospitals. To me it just seemed like she never thinks.

Secondly, there were a loooooooot of cliches. Drooling over the captain of the football team, who also happens to be a jerk? The cheerleaders being the mean girls? It was all very off-putting.

Thirdly, and this is a little less important than the first two, I think, but there were many instances in which the same words were used over… and over… and over again, sometimes within the span of 3 sentences. Look, I know it’s hard to describe things – I do this all the time in first drafts. But this is a published book, and I don’t want to read “icy” every other sentence.

Overall: interesting enough for me to want to keep reading, but not outstanding.

One thought on “Book Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Leave a Reply

