Book Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman

DISCLAIMER: this review was originally written and posted to my booklr (bookish tumblr) on APRIL 1ST, 2015, and is being archived on this blog. This review contains my thoughts on the book at the time that I read it, but I have not re-read it since then, so my feelings about the content may have changed.

solitaire

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

Date of Publication: July 31st 2014

Dates Read: March 28th – April 1st, 2015

Description:

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

Buy It From: Indigo | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been wanting to read this for a while now, but didn’t think I’d get the chance to until it came out in North America. Luckily for me I won a giveaway, and my prize was this beautiful edition. Naturally, I had to read it right away.

And I’m so, so, so, so glad I did.

So to start off, I’m going to be perfectly honest and say that there are some bits that I’m still a little unsure about. It’s partially due to how vague and around-the-main-topic the writing could be, but mostly due to me not paying deep enough attention. I guess I’ll have to read it again to answer all my questions. Which I have no problems with at all. I’d gladly reread this, though maybe I’ll wait a couple months or a year so I can do so with a fresher perspective.

But that’s saying something, because there are only 4 books I have ever willingly reread.

Anyway, onto the more important stuff.

First of all, the character development to me was pretty much flawless. It wasn’t a sudden revelation, but it also wasn’t like there was no change. The change was so subtle that I knew the characters had changed by the end of the book, but could not place exactly when, which is very good.

I also enjoyed the characters, although I think all of them at one point had been called “psycho” in some way. Not sure if this was intentional or not. That’s probably my only critique, really.

The plot was strong and I was never bored. Hell, I never wanted to put it down! It’s funny because it wasn’t this epic adventure or a fluffy love story, what I usually read and what I usually can’t put down, but Solitaire always held my interest anyway. It is very different from my usual read, I think, but that is totally not a bad thing.

And every little bit felt so real to me. I felt everything the characters were feeling, experienced what they were experiencing, and it was fantastic.

Overall: 10/10 would recommend.

One thought on “Book Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Leave a Reply

