Why I Am a Reader Tag

Happy Wednesday, everyone! Today I’m going to be attempting the Why I Am a Reader Tag, which I saw Reagan from PeruseProject on YouTube do. I thought this would be a fun, kind of different tag to do to break up my usual book-recommendations and lists.

1. Choose one word that would describe you as a reader.

The first word I thought of was slow, because I am such a slow reader, especially with school and work, etc. I would love to read more of the books on my TBR, faster, but I enjoy savouring books and, let’s face it, my time management isn’t 100%.

2. What is the first book that made you fall in love with reading?

The book that stands out the most in my memory is A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle. I read it in the 3rd grade for class and it’s the first full-length novel that I remember really enjoying – so much so, in fact, that I borrowed my library’s copy after we’d finished reading it, lost it, bought them a new one, and found their copy much later. I still have their copy!

3. Hardcover or paperback?

I just love the durability of hardbacks, as well as the sweet designs a lot of them have. I know they’re more expensive and they’re heavier, but I’m always afraid of taking paperbacks anywhere with me because I worry they’ll get bent.

4. How has reading shaped your identity?

I’m pretty much the bookworm of my family – I’m always asking for Chapters gift cards for Christmas/my birthday, and (unless I’m in a reading slump) when I have free time I will normally spend it reading. I also think that if I didn’t love reading so much, I probably wouldn’t have the job that I do. I applied to work at a library because I wanted to work with books, and because Chapters wouldn’t hire me (xD), and 2 and a half years later I still love working there, and have gone through two promotions since I started.

5. What book do you read when you want to be comforted?

Honestly I’m not much of a rereader. I used to reread The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong when I was a tween, but nowadays when I seek comfort I turn to my own writing. That seems pretty egotistical of me, but I really like going back and reading the trilogy that I wrote when I was 14 through to 17. I got through 2 and a half of the books before I gave up on it. It’s really fun to see how my writing has changed since then, and to see how my perspectives have changed, too. I also have a slight obsession with the main characters of those books, who I hope to eventually bring to life in another story some day.

6. Who influenced you to be a reader?

There are a lot of people in my life who read a lot: my mom, for sure, but also my grandmother, my aunts and one of my uncles, and some of my friends. I feel like I’ve just always had people in my life who liked to read, and they really helped me (and still do!) navigate the wide world of books.

7. Describe your dream reading lounge.

Ideally it’s not at ground level, at least on the second story of whatever building I’m in. There’s either a large, comfy chair with an ottoman or a chaise lounge, a small table beside me for drinks, a pillow, and a blanket. There’s a large window to let in lots of natural light, and covering the rest of the walls are bookshelves full of my books.

8. What book changed the way you saw the world?

The first book that comes to mind is The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: a Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman. As someone who was born and grew up in Canada, with a family who believes whole-heartedly in medicine and science, it was eye-opening for me to read about a way of thinking about illness not as a physical problem, but as a spiritual one. It really made me think.


Okie dokie, time to tag people! *rubs hands together*

I tag…

Hannah, Sarena and Sasha, and Adele!

If you’re reading this and want to do this tag, I welcome you to do it and say that I tagged you!

Have a wonderful Humpday, everyone! 😀

~ Becca

3 thoughts on “Why I Am a Reader Tag

  1. Great tag! This looks like a lot of fun, I love tags. It’s so cool that you wrote a book! I wrote a book when I was younger, but I gave up on in eventually, but I recently found it again. I can’t say I’m brave enough to read my writing just yet though. I’m not much of a rereader either!! I read SO many great books throughout the year, but I’m always like, “it’s great the first time, not interested in a repeat.” When I was younger I would reread books, but now I don’t. My Mom was the one who encouraged me to read also! My Dad had a hand in it, but since my Mom was a stay-at-home mom, she had the chance to tell me to read 24/7.

    Like

Leave a Reply

