Anticipated Releases: January to March 2017

Let me be real for a second here: I am absolutely horrible at keeping track of release dates for books. I mean, I’m not good at a lot of things, but I am exceptionally bad at remembering book birthdays. I’ll see people discussing books on Twitter and Instagram and think “oooh that one looks good!”, and then a couple of days later I’ll forget about it, even if I’ve added it on Goodreads.

With this in mind, in order to make posts like these I usually go through Indigo’s “Anticipated Releases” list, as well as a Goodreads list of this year’s 2017 YA releases, to remind myself of all the awesome books coming out. Because of this, I probably missed a couple of really good books – which I welcome you to mention in the comments below!

But anyway, enough about me, let’s get to the books! Note: I know the name of this post is “Top 5”, but these will actually be listed in order of release date, not by order of preference – you can’t make me choose a favourite, I’m excited for them all!!!

1. King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard (February 7th)

kings-cage

Description:

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Admittedly, I still haven’t read Glass Sword yet, but I am hoping to get to it this year, and maybe King’s Cage on top of it, too. I’m pretty obsessed with this cover – I’m taking osteology classes, so the bones in this crown are right up my alley!

 

2. The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera (February 21st)

margot-sanchez

Description:

THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

It was only recently that I saw this book pop up on my timeline, but I’ve heard some really good things about it from people who received ARCs. I’m also quite intrigued by the description, so hopefully my library gets this book in ASAP!

 

3. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (February 28th)

hate

Description:

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

I’ve been hearing great things about this book for months, and I know that the topics discussed within are super relevant and important, besides it being well-written. This is probably going to be one of those books that everyone should read, so I’m hoping to get to it later in the year, when I don’t have class and can really focus on it.

 

4. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (March 7th)

the-bone-witch

Description: 

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha — one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

I started reading a galley of this a couple of months ago, but because school got so busy I had to set it aside. Nonetheless, what I did read was interesting and I definitely want to read more of it. I’m hoping to finish reading the galley before the actual release date, but either way I am excited to see how it plays out!

 

5. A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi (March 28th)

a-crown-of-wishes

Description:

Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom’s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they’ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.

Roshani Chokshi has very quickly become one of my favourite authors – she was so sweet when I met her, and her writing is absolutely gorgeous! I’m definitely looking forward to reading Gauri’s story, and I seriously want a poster of that cover.

 


There you have it, my Top 5 most anticipated releases from January to March of 2017! What other books are coming out this year that you’re excited for? Which books do you think I should include in my next instalments of anticipated releases (April-June, July-September, October-December)?

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you all have a fantastic day! ❤

~Becca

2 thoughts on “Anticipated Releases: January to March 2017

Leave a Reply

