Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

DISCLAIMER: this review was originally written and posted to my booklr (bookish tumblr) on MAY 18TH, 2015, and is being archived on this blog. This review contains my thoughts on the book at the time that I read it, but I have not re-read it since then, so my feelings about the content may have changed.

snow-like-ashes

 Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Date of Publication: October 14th, 2014

Dates Read: May 9th – 18th, 2015

Description:

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Buy It From: Indigo | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My (initial) rating: ★★★★☆

Really a 4.5/5 – get on the half stars, Goodreads!

I really enjoyed this book. I’d heard a lot of good things about it, and I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to the hype. And for the most part, it did.

The world was rich and interesting. Lands stuck in the climate of a single season? Awesome. Other lands that still have all the seasons? Oooh adding a little irl to it, cool. Basically, Primoria is really cool and its history is interesting. A+ world building.

The plot is really interesting, too. I totally saw the big plot twist coming, though not as early as I would’ve liked. I remember when it happened, I looked back at the past events and everything kind of just clicked for me. Yeah, I should’ve seen it earlier. Now I mean the story wasn’t as mind blowing as I had thought it was going to be, but I guess that’s due to my expectations from all the hype. Worry not, readers, it’s still a well-paced, interesting plot. And I’m quite pleased with how it ended. Not too cliff-hanger-y, but you still know the the adventure isn’t over yet.

And the cast of characters is wonderful! Meira is reckless and wild and lovely. Theron is endearing and charming and just *sigh*. Now Mather… I’m having a hard time liking Mather. There’s just something about him that doesn’t work well with me. I really can’t place it. Maybe he’ll grow on me in Ice Like Fire?

I really just like the idea behind these books. Magic, but not quite like I’ve ever read before. It should be a fun, entertaining series to keep up with.

Overall: Incredible story, captivating world, loveable characters. I can’t wait to see what Raasch brings us next!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Leave a Reply

