Bookish Resolutions and Plans for the New Year

Hello everyone! Can you believe we’re nearing the end of 2016? This year has been pretty rough for almost everyone I know, so I can understand that many people are more than ready to move on into the new year, where more adventures, possibilities, and books await!

As my last post of 2016, I’m going to talk about my goals for 2017, and after that I’m going to discuss how my blogging is going to change (again) for 2017. No more babbling, let’s get into it!

Bookish Resolutions

1. READ EVERY DAY

A couple of months ago I decided to count how many books I own and how many of them I have actually read. You know what the percentage was? 44%. I have read fewer than half of the books I own. No, it’s not a joke, it’s actually pretty sad. In order to get through more of these books, I want to start reading at least a chapter per day, whether that’s before bed or on the bus on the way to school, or anywhere in between. I’m pretty stressed by the number of books I own, so I should really start reading them to relieve some of that stress.

 

2. READ MORE SEQUELS

I have read plenty of first books, but there are about 15 series I own of which I have not read the rest, or even at least the second book. I own a lot of sequels, but there’s always something else to read or something else to do. In 2017 I want to focus on sending these sequels some love and continuing on with the stories I’ve already started. These series include:

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
  • The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa
  • Prisoners of Peace by Erin Bow
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
  • A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
  • The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus
  • Reboot by Amy Tintera
  • Firebird by Claudia Gray
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

 

3. BUY ONLY SEQUELS

To go hand in hand with the last resolution, I want to stop buying so many books and save my money for other things – I am becoming an adult, after all. One way I plan to do this is to only buy the sequels to series I already own. My exceptions for this rule are: if I loved a book I borrowed from the library, and if there’s a book signing for an author I want to read. Other than that, no buying new series, Rebecca!

 

4. USE THE LIBRARY

I have recently started using my public library to read more books to stop myself from buying any and every book I want to read. I want to continue doing this in 2017, as well, since it saves me money and saves room on my shelves!

 

5. DON’T PRESSURE YOURSELF WITH A READING GOAL

After having to shift my reading goal for 2 years in a row due to a busier schedule than I intended, I’m going to try something new this year: I’m setting my Goodreads goal to 1 book. I will read what I read, and I don’t want to pressure myself into reading a certain amount, especially if I end up falling way behind as I have been for a while.

 

The Future of this Blog

First thing’s first: I love book blogging. I love blogging in general, as writing is something that I have always enjoyed and am usually pretty good at, if I do say so myself. Getting the chance to blog about books, reading, and writing, has been so much fun, and while my blog is not where I’d ideally like it to be, I’m still happy that I made the decision to switch from Tumblr to WordPress.

I have come to a realization lately that will directly affect my activity on this blog. You see, I have been treating this blog like a full-time job, when I already have a full-time job as a university student, and a part-time job as a library assistant. I realized that while I enjoy doing this, it’s just not realistic for me to try to think up posts everyday, while simultaneously getting an education, working, and attempting to read a lot. I’m sure there are people who have much better time management than I, and I applaud those who can do all of these things, but it just is not working out for me.

So, in the new year my blog will not have a set posting schedule. I want to shift my focus back onto my schooling so I can get the grades necessary for grad school, since that’s likely where I’m heading. I am still hoping to post at least once or twice per week, but I’m not going to promise any specific posts. I will post what I can, when I can. Like I said, I love blogging too much to give it up, but I’m changing tactics so I can hopefully get my life back in order. I hope you all understand that.

I will continue to post on Twitter and Instagram, and of course I’ll keep my Goodreads updated, so if you want to see what I’m reading on the daily, you should follow me on those sites!

I think that’s about it for now. Tell me about your bookish resolutions in the comments below!

As always, thank you very much for reading this, and for supporting me while I figure things out. I really appreciate each and every one of you.

I wish you all a happy, safe, and adventurous new year!

~Becca ❤

2 thoughts on “Bookish Resolutions and Plans for the New Year

  1. Those sound like excellent resolutions! I would hate to have you at my bookshelves; they’re mostly unread books partly because I rarely reread books and don’t keep a book unless I really loved it. I actually don’t spend a lot on books; I get a lot from the library and most of the others are gifts, super-cheap from secondhand shops, or free.
    I also need to continue or finish series. I also want to read all of the Canada Reads finalists and follow the debates again this year. Going to be starting my second book from the longlist soon.
    Maybe a “finish the series” readathon during reading week?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

