Book Review: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

lab-lost

Publisher: Sourcefire Books

Date of Publication: September 6th, 2016

Dates Read: November 3rd – 24th, 2016

Description:

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Buy It From: Indigo | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★★

It’s actually a little closer to 4.5 stars for me, but Goodreads STILL doesn’t allow half stars!

Anyway, I think it’s safe to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I know it looks like I took a long time to read it, but that’s because I was in the middle of final assignment season. Trust me, I never wanted to put this book down, and only did because of school.

Where do I even start with this book? The descriptions were so vivid and lively, making me feel like I was right there with the characters. The development of the magical aspect and Los Lagos was well done and sucked me right in, for sure. The pacing was good and didn’t slow down at all for me. Each chapter was carefully crafted and vital to the story, even if it didn’t quite make sense until closer to the ending. There were definitely some surprising moments, ones that had me at the edge of my seat, and ones that had me talking to the pages as if I had any sort of influence on the characters’ decisions. I absolutely adore Córdova’s writing, and am definitely exciting to read more by her!

I enjoyed that such a large focus of this book was on Alejandra’s family, which is always refreshing and fun to read about. Especially since they’re magical! Hooray for magic! Hooray for magical women!

There was still some romance, although it was not as important as the love between family members. With that in mind, I’m very happy with who Alejandra “ends up with”, despite it not being a focal point.

Honestly, the only reason why I took away half a star was because I wish we got to learn more about Rishi. In my eyes she’s an important character, but I feel like I only know her at the surface. It would have been nice to get to know her as well as we got to know the other main characters.

With all of this in mind, I still absolutely adored this book. The world was wonderfully built and the characters had a certain kind of chemistry between them, making for an adventurous, intense, and, in the end, heart-warming story.

Overall: A lovely book that I hope you’ll read!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

  1. I feel like this book is on either extreme; you really either like it or it’s super “meh”. At least that’s what I gather from the individuals who have read this.

    I have reservations in plotting when they’re “for the grand scheme” of things but it takes too long in development, but I’m glad you found the revelations rewarding! It is often a rarity in YA Fantasy that families are penned with importance and woven in to actually matter. So that sounds amazing in that regard!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

