Plans Plans Plans

Good morning friends! I hope your weekend went well, and that you treat yourself on this marvelous Halloween day!

So I’ve been thinking about a lot of things lately, particularly about this blog and my bookish presence in general. I absolutely love book blogging, love sharing my thoughts about books and doing bookish tags and maybe helping people discover new books. Blogging is really the only kind of non-academic writing that I do anymore, too, and in a way it helps ground me.

As of late, however, I haven’t been super satisfied with my content, both here and on my Instagram. And, you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t been reading like I used to. Right now I’m averaging a book a month, and I just dropped my Goodreads goal to 30 because I likely will not be able to reach 35 by the end of the year if I continue at this rate.

As far as I see it, these problems are due to my lack of time (although maybe I’m also just not that creative, too, but shhhh). I am currently in my third year of university, taking four classes that are demanding; between weekly lab reports, quizzes, readings, and – more recently – midterms, it takes a lot of my time and attention. Seriously, I have been studying for a week straight and I’m super tired of it. On top of that I have a part-time job, and family, friends, and a boyfriend who want to spend time with me. Plus, I like to get at least 7 hours of sleep.

Maybe my time management isn’t the best, but right now that whole “you have to make time to read!!!” thing isn’t working out for me, and I haven’t been able to plan out and really think about my posts.

So, after sobbing to my mom about how unprepared I am for my midterm in 2 hours, and with everything else listed above in mind, I have decided to go on a month-long hiatus.

There are three things that I hope to achieve during this break:

  1. Focus on school. I just had my midterms, and I didn’t do as well on them as I want to do. I am spending way too much on university to not get what I want from it, so I want to prioritize my education.
  2. Work on my content. Look, I’m clearly a n00b when it comes to book blogging; I have done the blogging thing before, but not this specific kind of blogging. I want to make good content, both for myself and for my readers. I have a lot to learn, so during this break I want to do some research and planning for my blog. It may be completely revamped by the time I return. We’ll see!
  3. Read more. This one is pretty self explanatory. It’ll be good to build up my review bank so I’ll have new reviews to post, and not just the transfers from my booklr.

When will it end, I hope you ask? Well, I still plan to do the School’s Out Readathon 2.0 starting on Sunday, December 11th, so that will likely be my first post after my hiatus! If you’d like to keep up with me in the meantime, you can follow my Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads, although odds are that I will be updating them less often, too.

Thank you all for reading this and my other posts, and for being supportive of this silly little hobby of mine. I hope you’ll stick around for when I make my triumphant (maybe not but you never know) return to the book-blogging world in December.

I wish you all a wonderful Fall/Autumn, and I’ll talk to you all again soon.

~Becca ❤

One thought on “Plans Plans Plans

  1. I’m in the same both except writing lectures, midterms, quizzes, grading, applying for big-time academic jobs, and occasionally looking at my thesis and sighing.
    Some things just have to take priority.
    Are you hosting the readathon? I might join. Last day of class is December 6th and my exam isn’t until the 21st. Sure I’ll have a bajillion assignments to grade, but I will happily ignore those =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

