Halloween Book Tag

Happy Friday, everyone!

I saw Jesse the Reader do this tag and I thought this was a pretty good time to do it on my blog! Without further ado (and because I have to go back to work soon), let’s get into it!

1. Carving Pumpkins: What book would you carve up and light on fire?

Like Jesse said, this is pretty brutal and I probably wouldn’t do this because I’d be worried about disrespecting the author. That being said, a book that I really disliked this much was probably Missing Era: The Emergence by A. O. Khalil. The idea of this book was cool – creatures climbing out of the ground and hunting down humans – but the execution was not to my liking. It became really, really hard to read early on.

2. Trick or Treat: Which character is a treat and which character is a trick?

The character I’m choosing for treat is Polly from Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston. She’s honestly just such a sweetheart and I wish everybody had a best friend like Polly.

And a trick? Maven from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. You know why.

3. Candy Corn: What book is always sweet?

I totally agree with Jesse’s answer of Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell, but I’m also going to say The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. That book was absolutely adorable and I loved every romantic second of it.

4. Ghost: What character would you like to visit you as a ghost?

I’m not sure that I have an answer for this one. Probably Cal from Red Queen so he could tell me when I should keep my cool and when it’s acceptable to throw shade, since he’s a relatively level-headed prince and I’m a hot-headed peasant.

5. Costume: What character would you want to be for a day?

I would love to be Matilda tbh. I have wanted telekinetic powers since I was about 10, and it would be neat to be able to move things around without touching them. Although maybe I’d be super lazy that day…

6. Wizards and Witches: What is your favourite Harry Potter moment?

I really don’t know the series well enough to be able to answer this, but I feel like I would love any moment where Harry is a sass master, which I hear he is in the books. Was that “have a biscuit, Potter” line in the books? That makes me laugh every time I see gifsets of it.

7. Blood and Gore: A book that was so creepy that you had to take a break from it.

I don’t really read scary books because I get frightened very easily and a lot of the time I can’t sleep after experiencing scary things. I remember, though, at the age of 12 reading All Around the Town by Mary Higgins Clarke and being very creeped out by one of the “villainous” characters. I didn’t actually take a break from it, though. I tend to only take breaks from books when I don’t like them or when I get too worried about the characters LOL


And that’s it for the tag! Nice and simple. I’m going to tag Sarena and Sasha of The Writing Duo, Adele of Adelereads, and you, lovely reader!

Have a wonderful weekend and a happy Halloween! 😀

~Becca

Leave a Reply

