7 Books I Started but Have Not Finished.

Listen, I don’t particularly enjoy DNF-ing books. When I read a book, I want to push through with it so I can get the whole experience, and base my rating on that. Unfortunately, there have been times where I’ve needed to DNF a book – it may have just not been holding my attention, or my schedule may have started getting busy in the middle of it and I decided to put it down until things calmed down (never to pick it up again, of course).

Most of them I do hope to try again, though, because I have this weird kind of optimism (although if you follow me on Twitter, you’ll likely have heard that I’ve only read 45% of the books I own… hehe…). This is why my DNF shelf on Goodreads is actually called “To Finish Later”.

A Fool’s Errand by Maureen Fergus

This is the sequel to The Gypsy King, a book that I gave five stars and absolutely loved. I started AFE a while after, and though I was really enjoying it I found that I was getting really anxious about the situation the characters were in – a sure sign of how attached to them I was. (Honestly, now that I think about it I was being a total wimp, but I digress.) I decided to put the book down temporarily, to give myself a breather from all the drama unfolding within. Little did I know that, 3 years later, I still wouldn’t have finished it. Woops.

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

It’s funny, I’d completely forgotten about this book until I checked this list again. This is the sequel to The Rosie Project, and another case of “I loved the first book but the second one made me too anxious to continue on”. Man, I get way too invested in characters.

More Than This by Patrick Ness

My friend let me borrow his copy of this book about two years ago, but for some reason I was just not feeling it. I returned it without finishing it, and then a year later I won a surprise giveaway where, after listening to a song by my favourite band, the host sent me a copy of MTT. Hah. Maybe it’s a sign that I should give it another try. (btw, the song was Hello by Hedley, in case you wanted to see if it reminds you of the book)

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

Listen, I really like the Throne of Glass series, but as you all know I’m super impatient and have a hard time getting through really long books. I started reading QoS when it first came out, but I was busy with school at the time, so I put it down to pick up in the summer – which I never did, of course. I’ll eventually get to the rest of the ToG books, but it’ll probably take a while. Avoiding spoilers is really, really hard.

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

My aunt lent me this book because she thought I would really like it. I mean, she was right, but I started reading it when life started to get really busy, so – like QoS – I put it down with the hope of picking it up later. It’s currently later, and I still haven’t continued on. Woopsie. Stuff happens, yo.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I’m really sad about this one, because there was just SO much hype surrounding this book and I was really excited for it. When I started reading it, however, it just wasn’t grabbing me like I expected it to. I got 100 pages in before I decided that it wasn’t working out. I still own the book, though I am debating donating it to my library’s book sale – that gorgeous cover is really the only thing stopping me.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

This one was really good when I started reading it for a readalong, but unfortunately I stopped being in the mood for a contemporary partway through. There were other books shouting at me to read them, too, so I re-shelved this one temporarily until a better time. Will there ever be a better time? Let’s hope so.


What about you guys? What are some books that you had to put down?

Thank you for reading!

OH by the way, how do you feel about a readathon Dec. 11-18th or longer? Let me know either on Twitter  or in the comments here!

Have a wonderful Monday ❤

~Becca

One thought on “7 Books I Started but Have Not Finished.

  1. […] I don’t really read scary books because I get frightened very easily and a lot of the time I can’t sleep after experiencing scary things. I remember, though, at the age of 12 reading All Around the Town by Mary Higgins Clarke and being very creeped out by one of the “villainous” characters. I didn’t actually take a break from it, though. I tend to only take breaks from books when I don’t like them or when I get too worried about the characters LOL […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

