5 Favourite Female Characters

It’s Friday, the last day of my week-long school break, and I’m spending it finishing up a big essay. As I approach the finish line, I try to channel the strong, complex, wonderful women* in books to help me out. There are so many, of course, so narrowing it down was pretty tricky, but I think I’m pretty happy with this list. To the countdown!

5. Aech – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This one may be a bit of a spoiler, but Aech is such a badass character! I read RPO a long time ago, and I can’t remember all the fine details, but I do remember loving Aech a whole lot. She’s a loyal friend, a clever mind, and always, always funny.

4. Polly – Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston

The thing about Polly is that she is the best friend that everyone should have. She is so supportive and loving. She’s ready to have deep conversations and cry whenever Hermione wants, but she’s also down for eating junk food and staying up too late at a sleep over. She is probably one of the most powerful supporting characters I can think of, not because of super powers (she doesn’t have any), but because of her presence and the mark she has left on me. Polly makes me want to be a better friend, a better person.

3. Nina Zenik – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

After reading Six of Crows, I totally understood all the Nina love. I was fully obsessed with this character for days after I finished that wonderful book – I donned red lipstick and embraced my imperfect figure, taking on daily challenges with one thought: what would Nina do? Hey, I even wore an outfit inspired by her to a nerdy convention. I had Nina fever, and I still think some of it has lingered.

2. Shahrzad – The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

What I really love about Shahrzad is her passion. This woman’s got a fire in her that is far from burning out, and I want to take on all of life’s challenges like she does. She can hold her own, always quick with a clever response, and she’s so full of love for both Khalid and her family. I really can’t say enough good things about Shazi.

1. Elizabeth Bennet – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Honestly, Elizabeth Bennet is everything I aspire to be. Smart and loving and kind, but ruthless with her words when necessary. Like Shahrzad, she’s got a sharp tongue and her wits about her, even though she can be a little judgey – but, I mean, I can be too. And the woman reads like there’s no tomorrow! She’s not afraid to get down and dirty if it means caring for her family, and she’s not afraid to speak her mind if it means defending herself or the people she loves, and yet after all of this there’s a kind of thoughtfulness about her that I find endearing. Yeah, I love Lizzy Bennet.


What about you all? Who are the female characters that you adore? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Becca

 

 

 

*Note: I realize that there is a difference between females and women, but I was not sure which was more acceptable to use in this situation, so I used both. If you’d like to correct me, I welcome you to do so kindly. Thanks!

One thought on “5 Favourite Female Characters

Leave a Reply

