Book Review: Angel Catbird by Margaret Atwood, Johnnie Christmas, and Tamra Bonvillain

Angel Catbird Cover.jpg

Publisher: Dark Horse

Date of Publication: September 6th, 2016

Date Read: October 4th, 2016

Description:

On a dark night, young genetic engineer Strig Feleedus is accidentally mutated by his own experiment and merges with the DNA of a cat and an owl. What follows is a humorous, action-driven, pulp-inspired superhero adventure– with a lot of cat puns.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

Note: this is going to be a short, quick review because I’m between work shifts right now

I’m sorry to say that I was pretty underwhelmed by Angel Catbird. I had such high expectations, since it was celebrated at FanExpo and written by such a lovely author.

Don’t get me wrong, Angel Catbird is entertaining enough. In fact, I don’t have any problems with the story idea itself – it’s fun, different, and it pokes fun at itself with all the cat puns. My issue is that this book seemed a little rushed and underdeveloped. I feel as though I have not yet really gotten to know any of the characters as much as I would have liked to – I feel so distant from them and not connected at all. The pace felt too quick, and I found myself almost disoriented during certain parts. Spending a little more time on background and explanations would have been nice, I think.

The art itself is nice – they’re  not my favourite graphics ever, but I can appreciate all the time and work that was put into them. The costume and character designs are really neat, though! I also like that the back contained concept art and rough drafts, including Atwood’s own sketches.

I’m hoping to learn a lot more about these characters in the next volume, To Castle Catula.

Overall: Entertaining but underdeveloped.

 

Leave a Reply

