September 2016 Haul

Hey everyone! This post was supposed to go up on Friday, but I ran out of time to get everything done – sorry!

September was a pretty bad month for book buying, and by “bad” I mean “I bought too many books”. Woopsie.

I’m trying something a little different today, purely because my usual layout would make for a long post with this many books. Let me know which format you like better, m’kay?

Allons-y!

The first books I got this month were Forest of Ruin by Kelley Armstrong, Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass, and Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis. Chapters bumped up my Plum Points to $50 worth, but to keep myself on track with my “only buy books from series you already own” rule, I bought these seemingly-random books.

  • Forest of Ruin:
    • The third book in the Age of Legends series, which is about twin sisters who deal with damned souls, demons, and plans that go awry.
  • Happily Ever After:
    • a collection of novellas and bonus material that are companions to The Selection series.
  • Spinning Starlight:
    • a sci-fi reimagining of The Six Swans, where the daughter of a rich tech family must rescue her brothers, who have been trapped between universes.

Next came Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. Indigo was having their 10x the Plum Rewards event right after their plum-point bumping, so I indulged once more.

EoS.jpg

Empire of Storms is the latest book in the Throne of Glass series. I would give a description, but as far as I know the books have drastically changed since the beginning, and I’m afraid of accidentally spoiling and misleading. I still haven’t caught up with this series, just because these books are getting way too long for my liking – I’m also just very impatient, though.

I ordered A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir at the same time as EoS, but it came later for some odd reason.

Torch.jpg

This is the sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, which tells the stories of a slave named Laia and a soldier named Elias, and how their lives intertwine under the Martial Empire. I have not yet read Ember, but have heard wonderful things about it and definitely want to read it!

As you may have seen in my OwlCrate unboxing, September’s box came with Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.

three-dark-crowns

This was probably one of my most anticipated reads of the second half of the year, so I was super excited to get it in the box! TDC is about triplet sisters with magical abilities, who must fight each other to the death in order to win their rightful place on the throne.

In with TDC was the first episode of a serialized YA story, called ReMade, which has many popular names written in the byline.

remade

From the description, I think it’s a post-apocalyptic story that follows teenagers and their search for answers about their deadly society. As I said in my other post, I’m not quite sure what it’s about, but that should make it interesting when I do eventually get around to it.

Next, Chapters held a contest on their snapchat, and I was one of the winners of this giveaway! The prize was this lovely book: The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis.

The Female of the Species.jpg

I’ve seen this book floating around on social media, but I’m not 100% sure of what it’s about. It’s a contemporary, for sure, but I’ve heard it deals with some heavy topics. You can read the description on Goodreads if you want to find out more.

That same day that I got that book, I also got the Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo box set, which I had preordered.

Six of Crows follows six individuals as they attempt to survive the streets of the fictional Ketterdam and pull off the most daring heist anyone has ever seen. I absolutely loved it when I read it earlier in the year, and I’m excited to read the sequel Crooked Kingdom!

WOW that was a long list, sorry about that! So, these were all of the books that I got this month – I’m hoping to slow down on the spending until Christmas, so hold me to that!

Thank you for reading!

~Becca

One thought on “September 2016 Haul

Leave a Reply

