September 2016 OwlCrate Unboxing

Hello lovelies, and welcome to Wednesday! Today I’ve got for you a recap of my September OwlCrate unboxing. I posted photos and videos on my Instagram Story while I opened it for the first time, but if you missed it, want to know where some of the stuff was from, or just want to see it again, then this is the post for you!

For those of you who don’t know, OwlCrate is a monthly bookish subscription box that sends themed boxes containing at least 1 book and other on-theme goodies right to your door! I’m not sponsored by them (though they are having another rep search that I’m hoping to be chosen for *fingers crossed*), I just thought I’d share with you all the awesome stuff I got in this month’s box!

The theme for the September box was Darkness, and the OwlCrate team had hinted that there would be something from Out of Print, as well as items inspired by Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Throne of Glass, and Six of Crows. Of course, when I heard this news I was SUUUUUPER excited! I ordered one almost immediately, tbh.

The wait was long and gruelling, and as usual I got mine a lot later than everyone else did. Nonetheless, I was a very happy girl when I saw my box shoved into my mailbox on Monday evening. After getting the obligatory “IT’S HERE!” photo, I set up shop in poor-lighting and with a bag of cheetos, and opened away.

Here’s what I found:

img_0122

(sidenote: the following pictures were taken with my bigger “better” camera, but for some reason it wasn’t focussing properly, so they may be a little blurry. Sorry! This is why I like using my phone camera…)

IMG_6058.JPG

After the usual information card and matching button, the first thing I pulled out was this neat bath bomb by Da Bomb Fizzers! It has a “yes” or “no” hidden inside of it; when you put it in your bath you’re supposed to ask a yes-or-no question so it can answer it like the fortune-telling bath bomb it is. It’s also berry scented to match the cool colours (pun intended) used to make it stand out. Unfortunately I haven’t taken a bath since I was a wee little one, so I’m either going to give this away or ask my friends if I can borrow their bathtub for a day…

img_6060

Next up was what is probably my favourite item in this box (besides the book): a mini candle from The Melting Library that smells like cake! This is the Throne of Glass-inspired item, made in honour of Celaena’s love of cake and all things sweet. It’s a sugary scent, with a slightly deeper richness to make it more cake-like than icing-like. (Do I sound crazy? That sentence made sense in my head.) Anyway, I’ve always wanted to get something from The Melting Library, but we already have an overabundance of Bath & Body Works candles at my house, so I can’t really buy anymore until we use those all up.

Next was the Miss Peregrine’s pouch from Out of Print, which – according to the information card – is official merchandise for the MPHfPC movie! I haven’t yet read Miss Peregrine’s, but this pouch is really cool and I’m sure I’ll find a good use for it.

Next up was this sweet bookmark by Eviebookish, inspired by Six of Crows. On one side it says “When everyone knows you’re a monster you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.” and on the other “No mourners, no funerals”.

There was also this little purple “passport” inside, which contains an excerpt and colouring pages for P.C. Cast’s upcoming book Moon Chosen.

img_6070

Fact: there were two books in this box! In all honestly, I’m not 100% sure what this is, as there is no explanation for it on the information card. I know it’s part of a serial called ReMade, but I’m not sure if this is excerpts from every story, or if it’s all the currently-released serials thrown into one volume, or what… I’ll have to read it to find out!

And now, the book: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. When OwlCrate first announced this box, they included a vague description of the book that would be inside, and I knew almost instantly which book it would be. I’ve wanted to read this ever since I heard about it, so I was excited to get it in this box! Here’s the descriptions from Goodreads:

Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless revenge haunting the queens’ every move, one thing is certain: the last queen standing might not be the strongest…but she may be the darkest.

Along with the book there was a letter from the author, a signed bookplate, and a paper fortune teller/cootie catcher (I always called it the latter but some of you may know it as the former). I am so happy to have this book in my collection, you guys have no idea!

Overall thoughts: Of the three boxes I’ve received from OwlCrate, this one is definitely my favourite. It was jam-packed full awesome and useful goodies! Congrats to the OwlCrate team for another wonderful box!

Did you get this month’s box? What did you think?

Talk to you all on Friday!

~Becca

4 thoughts on “September 2016 OwlCrate Unboxing

    • They’re the only subscription box I’ve ordered from so far, so I can’t really make a great comparison. Their customer service is A+, though, and I’ve really liked all of the boxes I’ve gotten from them. I don’t get them every month because of the price, only the months with the themes I really like, so that’s always an option!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

