10 Favourite Book Covers

Hello everyone. I just got back from my G2 test, and I passed – huzzah!

Today I wanted to show you guys my favourite book covers. You’re totally not supposed to judge books by their covers, but who honestly follows that rule? I know I don’t. Covers are the first things we see when we look at a book, and should hook readers in, make them curious enough to read the description. Then the words take over from there.

Now, I know for a fact that a lot of you will disagree with some of my choices, which is totally cool! But these are the covers that I, personally, find really nice and aesthetically pleasing. We can discuss others in the comments, if you’d like! I’m sure I’m forgetting some really nice ones.

Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find some of the names of the cover artists. I thought they’d be listed on Goodreads, but they aren’t there! If any of you know where I can find out the names of the cover artists (besides the actual books), please let me know so I can properly credit them all!

Anyway, enough talking, onto the list!

10. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (September 15 2015; Balzer + Bray)

dumplin
Art: Daniel Stolle | Design: Aurora Parlagreco

I really love the simplicity of this cover, with the POP of red from the dress. It says a lot about this book in very few words/images.

9. The Humans by Matt Haig (July 2 2013; HarperCollins Canada)

The Humans
Design: A. Smith

Isn’t it just so gorgeous? The colours are so nice, and the starry sky adds some elegance and simple beauty. Plus, there’s a puppy!!!

8. Risuko: a Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler (June 15 2016; Stillpoint Digital Press)

Risuko

I’m a sucker for watercolours. I love the movement in this cover, the flow of the font and the strokes that make the different parts.

7. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson (May 3 2016; Simon & Schuster Books)

the-unexpected-everything
Design: Lucy Ruth Cummins | Photography: Meredith Jenks

Honestly, if given the choice this cover would be my aesthetic. It’s so bright and colourful and happy. It totally gives off a summery feeling. Yay more puppies!!!!

6. We Awaken by Calista Lynne (July 14 2016; Harmony Ink Press)

we-awaken

Mixing gorgeous flowers with shining stars makes for a cover that looks like it’s exploding from the side, full of life and wonder and magic.

5. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (March 7 2017; Sourcefire Books)

the-bone-witch

I dig the symmetry and elegance of the golden lines. Coupled with the drama of the rocky hill and the cranium, it makes for a cover that I cannot stop staring at.

4. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (September 1 2015; Delacorte Books)

everything
Illustrations: “Good Wives and Warriors” | Design: Natalie C. Sousa

I feel like we all know why I love this cover. It’s bright, colourful, and fun, making the most of both the positive and negative space as few covers do.

3. The Star-Touched Queen/A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi (April 26 2016/March 28 2017; St. Martin’s Griffin)

(TSTQ Design: Danielle Christopher | TSTQ Photographs: woman by John Herbert Harrison, Castle by Mark Own, Stars by Shutterstock)

Clearly I love bold colours and starry skies, so it’s not wonder that I’m obsessed with these book covers. The brightness of the dress adds some nice contrast, and the golden border is elegant. Love love love!

2. A Thousand Pieces of You/Ten Thousand Skies Above You/A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray (November 4 2014/November 3 2015/November 1 2016 by Harper Teen)

(ATPoY & TTSAY Art: Craig Shields | ATPoY Design: Elizabeth Clark | TTSAY Design: Sarah Creech)

There’s something I find so powerful about the imagery here. It’s like these worlds are colliding, but living in a kind of harmony at the same time. Bright colours, gorgeous skylines, and watercolour? Of course I love it.

So, what are my absolute favourite covers?

Drumroll please…

1. These Broken Stars/This Shattered World/Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (December 10 2013/December 23 2014/December 1 2015; Disney-Hyperion)

Stars + pretty dresses + bright colours + unconventional symmetry = my favourite covers. I honestly cannot think of anything I dislike about them. I even love the font used, because it doesn’t take away from the images yet is big enough to tell you that that’s the title. Too bad I don’t own these books – they’d definitely be on display all the time!

Honourable Mentions:

State of Grace by Hilary Badger (August 1 2015; Switch Press)

State of Grace

Passenger/Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken (January 5 2016/January 3 2017; Disney-Hyperion)

And I Darken by Kiersten White (June 28, 2016; Delacorte Press)

and-i-darken


Now what about you? What are your favourite book covers? Let’s discuss them below, or on Twitter!

Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful weekend!

~Becca

5 thoughts on “10 Favourite Book Covers

  1. I agree with you about The Thousand Pieces of you Series, it’s soo pretty! I love the covers. I really love the U.S cover for Radio Silence, it really matches the aesthetic of the book. I think some of my favourite covers are the ones for The Raven Cycle. They’re so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

