Book Review: From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

distant

Publisher: Skyscape

Date of Publication: May 19th, 2015

Dates Read: May 15th to June 26th, 2015

Description:

When Lucas Walker inexplicably recovers from a terminal illness, everyone is astonished –except for his girlfriend Emma, who never gave up hope. However, as friends and family celebrate the miracle, Emma becomes alarmed: Lucas has changed. He speaks haltingly, can’t recall past events, and even his own dog doesn’t recognize him. Emma begins to suspect something is terribly wrong. What happened to the Lucas she loved? Does his strange behavior have something to do with the shooting light that fell into Lucas’s backyard the night he recovered?

As the two set off on a road trip in search of the truth, the journey takes an unexpected turn. First they’re shot at by unknown enemies and then helped by unlikely allies. Before long, Emma and Lucas are plunged into a desperate life or death race against time.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m on the fence about whether to give this just 3 stars or 3.5. At one point I had debated giving it 4, but when I think about it it’s not quite there yet.

This book is a solid okay. Not horrible, but also not amazing. There were some parts of it that I really liked, and others that I wasn’t all that impressed with. Pinpointing them exactly is a little tough, so this might be a slightly shorter/more confusing review, and I apologize.

I also think a big part of this is because I wasn’t really expecting a certain aspect of the plot. It caught me off guard, so it was really weird at first, but I grew into it after a bit.

What I liked:
– The second half of the book was pretty well paced and interesting. I enjoyed the second half much more than the first half.
– I’m glad the resolution wasn’t straightforward. It was a good twist and turn of events.
– Scout was so cute and innocent aw
– Hell yeah Eric
– I enjoyed the little bits of analyzing human culture that was included. It really makes you think. (I’m an anthropology major so that just tickles my fancy)

What I didn’t like:
– The first half had a hard time holding my attention. If you noticed, I’d been on this book for over a month. I eventually had to force myself to keep reading.
– Emma was really super whiney and that bothered me
– Unless I complete missed it, I didn’t get a good sense of Emma’s home life. We heard a million things about Lucas’ family, but not a lot about hers
– Lucas’ mom really frustrated me but I guess that’s just her character’s personality so not really as big a deal
– Why doesn’t Lucas stand up for Eric or Emma???

Overall: I wasn’t a big fan of it at first, but it grew on me after a while.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on July 2nd, 2015

One thought on “Book Review: From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

Leave a Reply

