Attempting a New Reading Schedule

Before I start today’s post, I would like to sincerely apologize for not posting on Friday. I had 2 work shifts, went to the gym, and hung out with my boyfriend, in the process completely forgetting to post.

Well, there goes my posting streak. It lasted, what, 3 months? Hah.

Anyway, onto the post!


So I had set a goal for myself to finish reading my ARC of The Swan Riders by Erin Bow, the sequel to The Scorpion Rules, by today, since it will be officially released tomorrow. Unfortunately, I’m only about halfway through, so that dream has pretty much been crushed.

Listen, I knew keeping up with my hobby-reading would be hard during the school year, especially since university learning involves a lot of textbook and article reading. With some major tests coming up, I may have to put the novels down in exchange for lab manuals. That being said, I’m attempting to start a new regime for myself, in an attempt to continue reading while simultaneously studying, working, and being a social human being. What is that schedule, you ask?

My new schedule is a pretty basic concept: leave the novel at home. I know, that seems pretty weird for those of you who read on the bus or between classes, but so far that has not worked out well for me. I do commute to school, but it’s not far enough for me to read very much, and, honestly, I don’t particularly enjoy reading while in a moving vehicle or while waiting for the bus/train.

I spend a lot of my time at school, since I also work there, and I often have large gaps between classes and shifts. Usually I use this time to scroll through social media or read novels, but a lot of my classes have started picking up the pace and throwing information and tests at me. Because of this, I know that I need to start prioritizing school, which means actually studying during those breaks between class.

Now, I’m not completely giving up on reading. By leaving my books at home, I’m hoping it will force me to finish all of my work at school, so that I can start reading before bed. Last year I used to do my work until 11PM, and then go to bed stressed – not very good. With this method, if I can finish my work at school I won’t have to stay up doing it, and I can also do a more relaxing activity to help get me prepared to sleep. And, let’s be honest, what’s more relaxing than curling up in bed with a good book? Not much.

Is this schedule going to work for me? I’m not really sure. I hope it does. I’ll let you know how it goes.

So, tell me, how do you balance reading with the rest of your life? Got any tips? Leave ’em in the comments so everyone else can see!

Thanks for reading!

~Becca

 

One thought on “Attempting a New Reading Schedule

Leave a Reply

