Rapid Fire Book Tag

Good morning, lovely readers, and happy Wednesday!

I’m currently sitting outside the library at school, charging my phone and enjoying a Tim Hortons breakfast. I don’t have class for another hour, so I’m using this time to put together today’s post!

Today I’m going to be doing a written version of the Rapid Fire Book Tag, which I saw Jesse the Reader do, but was created by GirlReading. I’ve gotten a bunch of new followers recently (Hello! Thank you for coming by!), so I decided that this book tag would make for a good introduction of myself, without actually calling it an introduction.

I’m pretty sure the point of this tag is to answer each question as quickly as possible, but in this case I’ll just be writing down the first answers that come to mind. You’ll have to take my word for it 😛

So, without further adieu, let’s get into the tag!

1. Ebook or physical book?

Physical books! Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the convenience of ebooks, especially when I’m standing in a long line, but I enjoying holding and reading from a physical book even more. I find that I concentrate better with physical books, as well. That’s weird, isn’t it?

2. Paperback or hardback?

I’m a hardback girl, believe it or not. I know paperbacks are “easier” to carry around, but I find hardbacks more durable for travel, and I’m not really bothered by their size and weight when I’m reading. Plus you get a dust jacket and an inner cover and end pages with hardbacks, which is just like more space to have pretty designs.

3. Online or in-store book shopping?

I do most of my book shopping online, especially when I get them from Chapters (which is my main source of books) because they tend to be less expensive when I buy them online than when I buy them in-person. Plus, Chapters ships for free when you spend $25 or more, which is basically just 2 books. Even with the taxes, it’s still cheaper to get them online. I know some people like to pick out their books in person, but Chapters is pretty good at making sure their books are pristine during shipping.

4. Trilogies or series?

This is tough because I’m super impatient, so I like that trilogies tell the story in a shorter amount of time, though I’m also finding myself a bit annoyed by just how many trilogies there are out there – they’re almost becoming predictable. On the other hand, series with more than 5 books exhaust me. It’s hard, but I guess I’ll go with trilogies!

5. Heroes or villains?

I mean everyone’s the hero of their own story LOL but I have always tended towards the heroes side of things. I’m a romantic like that.

6. A book you want everyone to read!

Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate! It’s like a high school drama with a diverse cast of characters, and it touches upon a lot of important, lesser-discussed topics like sl*t shaming and pansexuality, among other things. You can read the description HERE on Goodreads, and check out my review for it HERE.

7. Recommend an underrated book.

I don’t know if it’s necessarily that underrated but another book I want everyone, particularly teenagers, to read is Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. Diverse characters, important discussions about school and life, a careful look into fandom culture – this book was so interesting and intense and I loved every second of it. Once again, you can read the description on Goodreads HERE, and my review can be found HERE.

8. The last book you finished?

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow! You can find my review HERE, but if you’re too lazy to read it I gave it 4/5 stars – it can be a little info-dumpy and complex, but I found it intense and fun to read.

9. Last book you bought?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas! This is the 5th/6th (depending on if you count The Assassin’s Blade) book in the Throne of Glass series. I still haven’t read Queen of Shadows, though, so I probably won’t get to this big book for a while. I honestly just bought it to have it in my collection.

10. Weirdest thing you’ve used as a bookmark?

Either my phone or a tissue. Actually, I once used a library information card as a bookmark. Nothing too weird – I usually have some kind of paper on hand.

11. Used books: yes or no?

Heck yes! Some of my books have come from either Book Outlet, the book section of second-hand stores, or used bookstores! The only problem I have is that they price their books so low that I tend to buy books that just look pretty, even though they’re not even on my TBR.

12. Top 3 favourite genres?

Fantasy, contemporary, and sci-fi

13. Borrow or buy?

I used to be a “BUY ALL THE BOOKS” person, but due to my lack of shelf space I have had to start borrowing books from the library! Most of the time, though, if I can buy them then I will.

14. Characters or plot?

Man if I don’t like the characters, there’s no hope. The plot can be pretty meh but if the characters are written super well and their lives are detailed, then I will probably still give it 4 stars. So yeah, characters are super important to me.

15. Long or short books?

Like I said, I get super impatient, so I love short books.

16. Long or short chapters?

Ideally, alternating between long and short ones, but if I have to choose one side then probably short. That way I can take breaks if I need to and still keep track of where I left off.

17. Name the first three books you think of.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus

Solitaire by Alice Oseman

18. Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

LAUGH. I love laughing and any characters that make me laugh I will instantly love. Plus, I have never cried while reading, and I want to see how long I can go for LOL.

19. Our world or fictional worlds?

I mean the idea of a fictional world is always appealing, since a lot of the time we write places that are somewhat better than ours. I’m in a pretty good place right now, though, so I’m going to say our world (although maybe in the world of Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston, because while it’s basically our world, people actually take rape cases seriously in that universe)

20. Audiobooks: yes or no?

I personally don’t use them, but I can imagine they’d be handy for when I (eventually start to) work out or when I’m doing chores and can’t read. Plus they make books more accessible!

21. Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

a l l  t h e  t i m e . It’s really bad. I’m a sucker for pretty covers.

22. Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

Book to TV! Movies can cut a lot out, and TV shows can go into more detail and world exploration over a longer period of time. I know I said I’m impatient, but I like that a lot of TV shows release episodes weekly, and you get some time to discuss the episode and prepare yourself for the next one. It builds more suspense, too! Although I haven’t watched too many TV adaptations…

23. A movie or TV adaptation that you preferred over the book?

I honestly can’t think of one LOL

24. Series or standalones?

S T A N D A L O N E S.


That’s it for the tag! As usual, if you would like to do this tag then I tag you!

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

~Becca

3 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

Leave a Reply

