Currently Reading: 09/09/2016

Hello readers!

So, as most of you already know, I’ve gone back to school. Combined with work and homework, I’ve got a lot to do, so my reading has suffered for it. Fortunately, one of my classes does involve a lot of reading, so I will be counting the books from that class towards my Goodreads goal!

Anyway, it’s Friday and I’m tired. I’ll be taking photos of books today, as well as trying to read both of my current reads tonight. Hopefully I can get through ’em!

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

Description:

The world is at peace, said the Utterances. And really, if the odd princess has a hard day, is that too much to ask?

Greta is a duchess and crown princess—and a hostage to peace. This is how the game is played: if you want to rule, you must give one of your children as a hostage. Go to war and your hostage dies.

Greta will be free if she can survive until her eighteenth birthday. Until then she lives in the Precepture school with the daughters and sons of the world’s leaders. Like them, she is taught to obey the machines that control their lives. Like them, she is prepared to die with dignity, if she must. But everything changes when a new hostage arrives. Elián is a boy who refuses to play by the rules, a boy who defies everything Greta has ever been taught. And he opens Greta’s eyes to the brutality of the system they live under—and to her own power.

As Greta and Elián watch their nations tip closer to war, Greta becomes a target in a new kind of game. A game that will end up killing them both—unless she can find a way to break all the rules.

How far am I?

45% – almost halfway!

Why did I start reading it?

I received an ARC for the sequel The Swan Riders at an Indigo Teen event, so before I read that I need to read the first book!

What are my thoughts so far?

I’m actually really liking it so far! It’s quite unique, and something exciting just happened so it’ll be interesting to see where it goes from here.

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman

Description:

Lia Lee was born in 1981 to a family of recent Hmong immigrants, and soon developed symptoms of epilepsy. By 1988 she was living at home but was brain dead after a tragic cycle of misunderstanding, over-medication, and culture clash: “What the doctors viewed as clinical efficiency the Hmong viewed as frosty arrogance.” The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down is a tragedy of Shakespearean dimensions, written with the deepest of human feeling. Sherwin Nuland said of the account, “There are no villains in Fadiman’s tale, just as there are no heroes. People are presented as she saw them, in their humility and their frailty–and their nobility.”

How far am I?

12%

Why did I start reading it?

This is one of the required readings for my sociocultural anthropology class.

What are my thoughts so far?

I am also really enjoying this one! I love sociocultural anthropology, and just reading about the Hmong culture and the differences in how people see the world is fascinating.

We Awaken by Calista Lynne

Description:

Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an otherworldly girl named Ashlinn, who bears a message from Victoria’s comatose brother. Ashlinn is tasked with conjuring pleasant dreams for humans, and through the course of their nightly meetings in Victoria’s mind, the two become close. Ashlinn also helps Victoria understand asexuality and realize that she, too, is asexual.

But then Victoria needs Ashlinn’s aid outside the realm of dreams, and Ashlinn assumes human form to help Victoria make it to her dance audition. They take the opportunity to explore New York City, their feelings for each other, and the nature of their shared asexuality. But like any dream, it’s too good to last. Ashlinn must shrug off her human guise and resume her duties creating pleasant nighttime visions—or all of humanity will pay the price.

How far am I?

17%

Why did I start reading it?

I’d been hearing about this book around the book community, so when I received an ebook copy from the author to review on this blog, I was super stoked!

What are my thoughts so far?

I’m still kind of getting used to it, but it’s not bad so far! I definitely want to see where this story is headed.


What about you? What are you all reading on this fine Friday?

Have a lovely weekend! ❤

~Becca

Leave a Reply

