August Haul + September TBR

Haul

Guess what, friends… I only bought one book this month! Okay, that’s kind of a lie, but I was really good about my book-buying habits this month.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston

Before I went to the YA panel I wanted to try to read some books by the attending authors. I only got to two of them – The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, which I already owned, and Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston, which I borrowed from the library. I loved both of these books so much, so when I went to the signing I had to buy the second one to have E. K. Johnston sign it.

Exit tells the story of a girl named Hermione Winters, who is one of the leaders of a small-town cheerleading team, and her fight regain control of her life after she is drugged and raped at a camp party. It’s full of strong, beautiful friendships and family relationships, and has a bit of LGBTQAI+ representation, as well.

TBR

Like I said in my August Wrap Up, I’ve got a lot of ARCs to read. I want to finish The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow so I get can to my ARC of The Swan Riders. I also have to read The Iron Cast by Destiny Soria, The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, and We Awaken by Calista Lynne. I also start school this month, though, so my reading’s going to be pretty slow-going. Sigh.

Thanks for reading!

~Becca

Leave a Reply

