Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

WWL

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Date of Publication: May 13th, 2014

Dates Read: June 26th – 27th, 2015

Description:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★★

Holy cow guys, this book. This book. It was what I expected it to be, but also completely NOT what I was expecting. It completely blew me away.

This book is really short, only about 225 pages. I haven’t read a lot of short books lately, so this was a really nice, much needed break from all the heavy books. But its lack of pages does not make it a light book. Not at all.

I can feel its intensity from the very first page, and that intensity never stops anytime throughout the book. It is a page turner – I never wanted to put it down! I started it on a Friday night, read 2/3 of it in 4 hours, and finished it Saturday morning. I just felt this incredible need to know what happened. In this book, Lockhart mastered the suspense.

I really enjoyed the cast of characters. Sometimes they really annoyed me, but their personalities worked for the story. It was a story about stuck up rich people living a rich life, and really I could not have imagined anything less than what the characters are. It was really cool to read about a life like that, especially since a lot of books today are about less-wealthy people rising to power. Really, it’s unlike anything I’ve ever read before.

And I mean sometimes too much poetic writing can get on my nerves, but Lockhart made it work, in my opinion. I enjoyed this writing much better than I enjoyed The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks.

But the events! What a twist! Looking back, I could see the foreshadowing, but honestly I had no idea what was going to happen while I was reading. It took me days to make sense of it, honestly.

Overall: Beautiful, tragic, and I can totally understand why it won my poll.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on July 2nd, 2015

3 thoughts on “Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

