Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Date of Publication: September 2nd, 2014

Dates Read: June 18th – July 02, 2015

Description:

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★☆

Honestly, I’m really on the fence about what to give this one. I think it’s a solid 4.5 like Throne of Glass. Crown of Midnight is still my favourite of the series, but by no means does that mean Heir of Fire was bad. It was still very very good. (This review is going to be really short, just so you know.)

On the one hand, it was so very interesting. I loved seeing from all the different points of view, and finally meeting all the characters I’d heard about on Tumblr. There was a good struggle in there for the characters, with events I was holding my breath on and squirming about. The characters are as great as ever, and I’m slowly getting very attached to all of them. Which is very, very bad.

Speaking of the characters, love the development.

The reason I’m undecided about my rating is because, honestly, sometimes it felt a little too long, a little too dragged out. And though I know it’s better that the hero’s journey not be easy – one of the qualities I enjoy about this series – I still felt really weird about its length. Maybe I’m just impatient. But sometimes I have to wonder if all of the scenes were necessary, or if parts could have just been added to the next book. Then again, I’m not a literary genius. Like I said, I could just be really impatient and have a short attention span.

But yeah, it’s nice to be caught up and know what the hell everyone’s talking about.

Overall: A great 3rd book in this series. (Unless you count The Assassin’s Blade?) Can’t wait for the next!


This review was originally posted to my booklr on July 6, 2015.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

