Popular Books/Series I Haven’t Read

So I watched Kat from Katytastic do a video on this topic the other day, which was interesting to see because she reads like 10x as many books as I do. Anyway, after watching her admit the popular books she hasn’t read, I’ve been inspired to let you all know that there are many, many popular books that I have yet to read – and a few I may never read.

In no particular order, here are 10 popular books/series that I haven’t read.

1. Book 3-7 of the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I decided to just rip the bandaid off and start with the series that may shock the most people. I didn’t grow up reading Harry Potter – my brother did, but I read a lot of Dear Dumb Diary, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Captain Underpants, and A Wrinkle in Time (one of these things is not like the other…). I’ve also only seen the first movie, and that was when I was a kid. Basically, I’m pretty personally removed from the Harry Potter fandom, although everyone else around me is chest-deep in it. I really only read the first two books to see what the hype was about, but so far I’m not incredibly impressed by it – maybe because it’s Middle Grade? (although my grandmother loved the books, so that can’t really be an excuse.) Anyway, eventually I’ll probably read the rest, but right now they’re just not a priority for me.

2. The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

This is one of those series that I’m pretty sure I’m never going to read. The entire plot doesn’t necessarily pique my interest, and I’ve already been spoiled for how it ends and basically the entire story, thanks to the Internet. At this point reading it seems unnecessary, especially when there are other books I want to read a lot more.

3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Funny enough, I’ve had this box set for about two years now, and I still haven’t read any of the books. I keep hearing wonderful things about this trilogy, especially from Katytastic, and I’m curious to see what it’s about. I actually listed it in 5 Series I Own but Haven’t Read, which went up almost a month ago.

4. Ms. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

For a while I did own the first two books of this series, but recently I decided to donate them to my library’s used book sale. I’m still not sure whether or not I’m going to read them; they don’t seem to be “my” kind of books, but maybe sometime down the road I’ll give them a try.

5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have owned Cinder and Scarlet for a while now, and at this point I think I’m just waiting until I own all the books in paperback before I read them. I’ve heard only wonderful things about this series, and I really just love sci-fi retellings of fairytales, so this is a series I definitely want to read relatively soon!

6. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

If you follow me on Instagram, I talked about this book being on this list yesterday. Lucas bought it for me for our anniversary, which was super awesome of him, but I just haven’t picked it up yet! I do want to read it, I’m just not sure when I’ll get to it.

7. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I assume this book is popular, since The Melting Library (not sponsored) has a candle inspired by it. Anyway, I’ve owned this book for a long time, buying it after hearing so many people say good things about it. I still have no idea what it’s about, but I think I’d like to keep the mystery going until I actually read the book. Not sure when that will be, though.

8. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I’m not sure if I’m going to read this series or not. I recently read Six of Crows, and I loved it. These books take place in the same universe, I believe, but I know the Grisha books have very polarizing reactions; people either love them or hate them. It would be nice to form my own opinion of them, but like Harry Potter, these books aren’t necessarily a priority for me at the moment.

9. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Yet again we have another series that I’m on the fence about reading. I honestly don’t even remember what these books are about (yes, I know, it’s a Goodreads search away), but I remember at one point I was interested in reading them. A couple of months ago I tried reading Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, but I couldn’t get into it, so now I’m concerned that I may just not like this author’s writing style.

10. The Raven Cycle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

Now this is a series that I DEFINITELY want to read. In fact, I think it holds the top spot in my list of series I don’t own and want to read. Again, I just hear such wonderful things about these books, and I’m really interested to see how the story plays out, since I hear it’s a little weird. I actually think I’ll just wait for a Raven Cycle box set to come out so I can get all the books at once.


What about you? What popular books/series have you not read yet? If you think I should prioritize any of these books, let me know in the comments – I am open to persuasion!

Have an awesome weekend, everyone ❤

~Becca

One thought on “Popular Books/Series I Haven’t Read

Leave a Reply

