Book Review: State of Grace by Hilary Badger

State of Grace

Publisher: Capstone

Date of Publication: September 1st, 2015

Dates Read: July 5th – 7th, 2015

Description:

The trees are laden with fruit and the water in the lagoon is as clear as crystal. Wren’s world is a utopia.

If only she could stop the strange visions she’s started having: flashes of another world, where there are people she doesn’t know, couldn’t possibly know, but who somehow feel familiar. What does Blaze, the most beautiful and mysterious of creations, know about what’s going on in Wren’s head?

When she uncovers the lies that are propping up everything she has ever believed in, Wren must choose: remain in blissful ignorance or face the ugly truth?

State of Grace on Goodreads

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from Capstone via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★★★★☆

I remember seeing someone review this book a while back with a different cover (which I learned is the physical copy) and having a little bit of it spoiled for me. But when I requested it, the description didn’t say anything about the part that had been spoiled, so I assumed it was a different book. It was, in fact, the same one, as I found out later in the story. Which was good for me, since I’ve wanted to read this book since I saw that review.

The story behind State of Grace isn’t necessarily obvious at first, and that I enjoyed. It was pretty well paced, maybe a little slower at the beginning but it picks up speed in no time. I really was interested in this book, I think finishing the second half all last night. I kept turning the pages hoping to see what would happen next, and to find out all the secrets and such. The plot had me squirming, sitting on the edge of my seat, and laughing. A great roller coaster of emotions.

And the world was pretty cool to see, too. It was fairly easy to pick up on their lifestyle and how things worked. It took me some time to piece together the big reveal, but I did it at about the same pace as Wren did, maybe only slightly faster. But anyway, great suspense and thrills.

I love the cast of characters and the diversity, too. No two were exactly alike, and seeing them mesh together was fun. One of my only complaints is that sometimes the way Wren speaks is very child-like for a 16/17 year old. Now, I’m not sure if it’s because of the circumstances, since her tone of voice does change throughout the book. I didn’t like that very much, either way, but if the tone changes because of the context, then I guess I could live with it.

One of the other things that bothers me is that we never really find out what happens to one of the characters that we spent so much time getting to know. The last time we see him is when he’s running with Wren, and then the next chapter starts with Wren and Blaze, no word of this character ever again. I want to know what happened to him! (I’m trying not to be spoiler-y)

Overall: Wonderful book with an interesting plot and exciting events.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on July 8th, 2015.

One thought on “Book Review: State of Grace by Hilary Badger

Leave a Reply

