Book Review: The Kiss by Lucy Courtenay

The Kiss

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group

Date of Publication: July 2nd, 2015

Dates Read: July 9 -25, 2015

Description:

‘Aphrodite kissed a mortal once by the light of this moon, many thousands of years ago. It drove him crazy. The next person that he kissed – boum. The craziness travelled like this from person to person. It travelled through time. Everywhere – boum! Tu comprends?’

‘Where did it end up?’ I whisper.

His lips are on my cheek now. ‘It ended with me. And now I am going to pass it to you. You will like that, mermaid?’

Imagine the perfect kiss. A legendary kiss that makes people crazy with love. Imagine a summer’s night, on a moonlit beach in the South of France, as French boy Laurent kisses 16-year-old Delilah after the best chat-up line she’s ever heard. BOOM! Delilah is pretty sure the Kiss is fiction, despite her head-spinning holiday fling. But with all the sudden crushes, break-ups and melt-downs happening back at home, the Kiss starts looking a little too real for comfort. If only Delilah could keep track of where it’s gone …

Who knew one kiss could cause this much trouble?

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I just had too many issues with this book. At one point I was willing to give it 2/5, but looking back at it I couldn’t bring myself to. 1.5/5 is the highest I’m willing to go.

First of all, I disliked Delilah almost from the beginning. A lot of the things she said really bothered me. Look, I understand that she’s 16 and “not going to know a lot”, not always going to be right, but even that assumption right there is absurd. I just did not like her. Some of the lines that made me want to drop the book include “Nobody’s faithful at sixteen” and “You can molest her”, which she said to her best friend’s boyfriend.

Honestly, I couldn’t bring myself to care about any of the characters. None of them really grabbed at me, and half the things they said and did made me think they were even more fictional, not more real.

There were a lot of metaphors used in this book, all of them strange and didn’t make much sense. Was this supposed to make Delilah quirky and random, to appeal to the “geek girls everywhere”? Because it just confused me even more. (Seriously, how is this book for geek girls everywhere?)

And, I’m sorry, but Fatima’s French-Accented-English did not read like FAE; it was definitely written as an accent, but it definitely was not a French one.

And the ENDING. Ugh. No. The ending was messy and rushed. It was not satisfying. Everything was just tied together and fell into place too easily, too quickly for my liking.

The only thing keeping it from not being the worst book I’ve ever read is that sometimes it was bearable to read. Sometimes.

Overall: I was not happy with most aspects of this book, which is unfortunate because I like a good romance.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on July 26, 2015.

Leave a Reply

