Ruler of Books Tag

As usual, I watched Jesse the Reader do this tag, and like him I was not tagged by anyone, but that’s definitely not going to stop me from doing it! In this tag, we pretend I’m the ruler of a bookish kingdom, and these are my rules!

1. What book would you make everyone read?

I’m going to say Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate, as it covers the topics of sl*t shaming, pansexuality, gender as a social construct, and many others. It takes place in a small town in the US, so most of the main characters are white, though I think 2 of them are POC (which, if my memory serves correctly, is also brought up by one of the characters). It’s just all around a good book that I think everyone could learn from.

2. What would you abolish in book construction?

Tiny text. Seriously, it benefits nobody (I think). Make all book text a decent size, and keep some larger-print editions for those who need it. But the tiny text, especially in mass market paperbacks, can just go.

3. What author would you commission to write every book ever?

I’m going to say Renée Ahdieh for this one, because as she said in her recent Bustle interview, she takes the time to introduce the reader to a culture through its food, attire, weaponry, etc. She really thinks of all the details, which I think makes her writing so unique and so realistic. I would definitely want her to write all the books!

4. What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

The first one that came to mind was Fifty Shades of Grey + any other books that have to do with that series. If you want them, you can go to the basement, but I think the hype is over with now.

5. What cover artist would you commission to make a beautiful mural?

I would instantly hire Craig Shields, who made the jacket art for A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey. Are you kidding? These books are so pretty, of course I’d commission him!

6. What book would you award the Ruler of Books Prize of 2016?

*throws award at Renée Ahdieh*


If you’d like to do this tag, then do it and say I tagged you!

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

~Becca

One thought on “Ruler of Books Tag

Leave a Reply

