Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen

Publisher: HarperTeen

Date of Publication: February 10, 2015

Date Read: July 25, 2015

Description:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★☆

I was worried going into this book, because I’ve heard really mixed things. People either love it or hate it.

Count me in as one of the lovers.

Okay, so it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever read, so maybe love is a strong word, but I still really really enjoyed it.

I like the world that this takes place in. It felt like a cross between dystopian/sci-fi (with the technology and arenas) and fantasy (with the monarchy and powers), which was interesting to explore.

As for the characters, they’re pretty good. I’m not quite as attached to them as I was hoping be. Except, of course, the one character I grew fond of… spoilers. Even though Mare is our main character and the person telling the story, I still feel like I’m missing something from her.

The beginning may seem a little “meh” at first, but I feel like the first book in any series will be this way because we have to be introduced to the characters, the world, the story, etc. Things definitely did pick up, and they definitely did NOT go where I expected them to go (my heart, my aching heart.) I did manage to see one thing – the end – coming, but I was completely blindsided by the other big thing… yeah…

One of my only other issues with this book is that sometimes things went a little too quickly, too easily. Mare never really got trained when she was sent to the Silver Palace. She kind of just showed up, was given a uniform, and started working. How did she know the protocol, where everything was, etc? The way it was written made it seem like she started her work the day of, without training. But maybe I’m reading it wrong.

Some parts did seem just like a lot of other YA books, and I can understand why that can be tiring. But I think Aveyard played the right cards at the right times to keep this interesting, at least for me.

What I did really like, though, is the very end. Like pages 382-383. I feel like the note she left it on is different and refreshing. It’s hard to explain without spoiling the book.

BUT SERIOUSLY WHY DID YOU RIP MY HEART OUT LIKE THAT??? WHY???

Overall: Strong first book, and I’m excited for Glass Sword.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on July 30th, 2015

One thought on “Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

