Book Review: A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

ABOSAT

Publisher: Razorbill

Date of Publication: June 23rd, 2015

Dates Read: July 6-31, 2015

Description:

Crystal Hatcher, Modern-day Toronto: It’s a normal afternoon in her mother’s antique bookshop when Crys witnesses the unthinkable: her little sister Becca collapses into a coma after becoming mesmerized by a mysterious book written in an unrecognizable language.

Maddox Corso, Ancient Mytica: Maddox Corso doesn’t think much of it when he spots an unfamiliar girl in his small village. Until, that is, he realizes that she is a spirit, and he is the only one who can see or hear her. Her name is Becca Hatcher, and she needs Maddox to help get her home.

Farrell Grayson, Modern-day Toronto: Rich and aimless Farrell Grayson is thrilled when the mysterious leader of the ultra-secret Hawkspear Society invites him into the fold. But when he learns exactly what he has to do to prove himself, Farrell starts to question everything he thought he knew about family, loyalty, and himself….

Fate has brought these young people together, but ancient magic threatens to rip them apart.

Buy it From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★☆

This is probably going to be a short review because A. headache, and B. I’m still trying to figure out my feelings about this book.

Don’t get me wrong, it was still really good. But it doesn’t leave me with the same feeling of “holy moly” as Falling Kingdoms does.

I really do like the cast of characters. In the beginning, Farrell was the only one I remotely cared about, but now Maddox is my little baby and so is Adam. I have not yet quite warmed up to Crystal, but I’m hoping I will in the following books.

Of course, this book features Morgan’s signature twists and turns that you don’t see coming until the very last second. Well, at least I didn’t see them coming. And, of course, the people are just as vicious and cut-throat (hehehe get it) as in FK.

I went to the book launch party for this book, so I’d heard the first and third chapters read aloud before I actually read them myself. If I hadn’t, I probably would’ve found them slightly more interesting. I think this contributes to the reason why I looked forward to Farrell’s chapters – Morgan hadn’t read his at the launch.

Personally, I also enjoy reading a book that takes place in an area that I actually know and have been to! I feel like I can properly imagine what’s going on, at least in the real-world situations.

It’s really hard to pinpoint exactly what I didn’t like. But like I said, there was a little something lacking that would have pushed this book over the edge for me. Maybe it was one of the romantic aspects that didn’t seem developed enough? Or maybe it’s my missing connection with Crystal and Becca? Or maybe I’m used to so much action in FK that I expected it for ABOSAT, even though it’s a different series? I’ll have to think about this some more.

Overall: Not quite a favourite, but another wonderful book by Morgan Rhodes!


This review was originally posted on my booklr on August 1st, 2015

One thought on “Book Review: A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

