July Haul + August TBR

(Picture coming soon!)

Hey everyone!

So I actually didn’t buy too many books this month, which I’m really proud of myself for. Some really great books just came out, but I held back and really only purchased 2 of the 3 that I got.

My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand, and Brodi Ashton

This book came in my June OwlCrate box, which didn’t actually get to my house until July LOL. My Lady Jane is a retelling of the life of Lady Jane Grey, with less tragedy and more comedy. Tahereh Mafi, author of the Shatter Me series described it as:

“The Tudors meets Monty Python. Prepare to laugh and gasp and clutch your pearls.”

It sounds really interesting, and I love a good historical comedy. Anything that makes fun of history in a tasteful way wins my heart, so I’m looking forward to reading it! Once again, OwlCrate gave me a book that I would not have picked up on my own, which is one of the things I really love about this box! Also, this box was a gift box from my friend for my birthday, so even better!

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

I bought the Lord of the Rings trilogy from a used bookstore last year, and I’ve been looking for the matching Hobbit book for a long time now. I ended up finding a very similar edition at a new Indigo location, the only differences being the texture of the cover and the size of the book. No matter, the jacket design matches the books I have, so I bought it!

If you don’t know, The Hobbit is a kind of prequel to the Lord of the Rings series. It follows the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, who plays a small yet important role in the LotR, and explains how he got the One Ring.

The Penguin Portuguese Phrasebook by Jill Norman and Antonio Figueiredo

While at the same Chapters my friend and I ended up in the language-learning section, and we found this series of really pretty phrasebooks made by Penguin. My friend took the French, Italian, German, and Spanish ones, while I took the Portuguese one (my boyfriend’s Portuguese and I think it’d be cool to learn the language!)


See? July was a pretty good month for my book-buying restraint!

As for August, because I’ll be doing a writing challenge I don’t imagine I’ll get much reading done. There are three books that I’ve got in mind for now:

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

I’m reading this book at a very casual pace right now. It’s not that it’s bad, it’s just that I haven’t really been in the mood for it. Hopefully I can find the time to actually finish this book before the end of the month, so I can return it to my aunt!

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

This is an ARC I received from the publisher via NetGalley for review, and so far I’m really liking it! It follows the story of a girl named Tea, who comes from a family of witches. When Tea finds out that she has the feared power of necromancy, she seeks the guidance and training of an older Bone Witch. It all leads up to dark forces awakening, and Tea needing to make a choice that will change everything. Or something like that.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This is Seize the Book’s pick for August, and I’m really excited! I’ve wanted to read this book for a while, and it will be nice to read a contemporary novel after two months of fantasy books. IGYTS is about twins who used to be the best of friends, but have since stopped talking to each other. It sounds interesting, with their younger ages being told from one twin’s perspective, and the older years being told from the other twin’s perspective. Should be a good read!

That’s all from me for this week. I hope you all have a wonderful August ❤

~Becca

Leave a Reply

