Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

SYBG

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date of Publication: May 6th 2014

Dates Read: August 12 – 15, 2015

Description:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My rating: ★★★★★

I was worried about reading this book for a long time, because its concept is very similar to a book I was writing when it first came out, and I didn’t want to subconsciously take cues from it. But now that I’ve stopped writing that book, I figured it was finally a good time to read it. And I’m glad I did. Actually, I regret taking so long to read it, but I had to do what I had to do to keep ideas separate.

I loved this book, and it’s definitely one of my new favourites.

I liked that it was still exciting even without being a dystopian/sci-fi/fantasy book. I didn’t want to put it down, always wondering how Emily would pull off each item and how she would grow throughout the book. I honestly never found myself bored with the plot or the characters!

Speaking of, the cast of characters was lovely, and I enjoyed watching their personalities mesh, especially Emily’s and Sloane’s. The flashbacks were a great touch to go in-depth into their friendship, making this book less about romance and more about platonic love. Don’t get me wrong, there was definitely romance, but I like that this was more about their friendship than it was about Emily finding a boyfriend.

As for the plot, I’m glad Morgan didn’t make completing the list easy and straightforward, instead making Emily try multiple different methods to complete some of the tasks. This made the story more realistic, made Emily seem more human. I’m also glad the ending wasn’t so picture-perfect. Things did not wrap up neatly in a little bow, but nevertheless it was still a well-written ending.

Overall: Seriously loved SYBG – now I have to find room on my favourites shelf for it.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on August 15, 2015

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

