Book Review: Descent by Katie O’Sullivan

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00038]

Publisher: Wicked Wale Publishing

Date of Publication: July 16, 2015

Dates Read: August 16-24, 2015

Description:

Shea MacNamara’s life just got complicated…

When a freak tornado devastates his Oklahoma farm, fifteen-year-old Shea moves to Cape Cod to live with a grandmother he’s never met. Struggling to make sense of his new surroundings, he meets a girl along the shore who changes his life forever.

Kae belongs to an undersea world hidden from drylanders, where bloody war rages between opposing clans. A fragile peace accord hinges on marriage between the royal families, but treachery and magick lurk in every shadow.

With Kae’s help, Shea discovers his true heritage and finds that his destiny lies somewhere far below the ocean’s surface.

Buy It From: Book Depository

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from Wicked Whale Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: ★★★☆☆

It’s more like 3.5 stars, but I’m going with what I rated it on Goodreads.

I’m quite unsure about how I feel about this book. It was good, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like there was something missing from it that would have made it better.

First of all, hooray for a mermaid story! I feel like I don’t read enough of those, so it was refreshing to read about.

Now the book itself was pretty interesting, but it felt like not a lot really happened when Shea was in Cape Cod. The first couple of chapters were good, but when he got to Cape Cod things slowed down and became less interesting. The plot didn’t really pick up again until about halfway through.

Also I feel like there should have been more chapters on Zan, maybe fewer on Kae and Shea on land. I felt like some of their chapters on land were unnecessary, and there were too few to really justify having Zan’s. I can understand why Zan’s chapters were important, but we really did not go too in-depth with him, at least not as in-depth as we went with the other two. If you’re going to put in chapters from his point of view, we’d better get to know him deeply. I hope to see more of him in the second book.

Aside from this, I liked the characters well enough. Hailey annoyed me a little bit, but I think that’s because she reminds me too much of my 13 year old self.

On a slightly smaller note, Kae’s green eyes were mentioned waaaaaay too often. Like every other page. I found that slightly annoying.

I did, however, enjoy the other descriptions in this book. They were vibrant and made it easier to imagine exactly what the author had envisioned. I liked the underwater world O’Sullivan created, and hope we see more of some of the other oceans/the university in the next book.

Overall: Interesting enough for me to want to keep reading, but could have been executed a little bit better.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on August 24, 2015.

One thought on “Book Review: Descent by Katie O’Sullivan

Leave a Reply

