Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

So the awesome Tilly of Tilly AndHerBooks  did this tag recently, and I thought I would try my hand at it! I’m not nearly as funny as Tilly, and it’s harder to get my emotions across in text, but hopefully you’ll catch my drift.

1. The best book you’ve read in 2016

100% The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this book (and its sequel, The Rose and the Dagger). I regret how long it took for me to read it, but know that when I did finish it I was an absolute mess. I hope you all get to read it.

2. Best sequel that you’ve read this year

Ms. Marvel Volume 2: Generation Why was the sequel that beat out the first book. It is my favourite volume of the 3 I’ve read so far – it’s got an important message for teenagers, and (spoiler alert) Wolverine makes an appearance!

3. New release that you haven’t gotten yet, but want to read

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh has intrigued me for a while, and I’ve heard so many great things about it! It would be cool to read a book from that time period (especially as an earth science/physical anthropology major lol)

4. Most anticipated read for the second half of the year

This is tough because I’m really bad at remembering when books come out lol. I’m definitely looking forward to Crystal Storm, the 5th book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes, especially with what happened near the end of Frozen Tides

5. Biggest disappointment

I was really excited to read Passenger by Alexandra Bracken because of all the hype, but I was super disappointed when it just wasn’t working for me. I still have no idea why, but I wasn’t digging it. I’m hoping to give it another try eventually, not sure when that will be, though.

6. Biggest surprise

I was actually surprised at how much I enjoyed Risuko by David Kudler! I was worried that the beautiful cover had set my expectations too high, but I ended up really enjoying it. Though not perfect, it was definitely fun and interesting – and that cover is still g o r g e o u s.

7. Favourite new author/new to me

I hate to repeat but *drumroll* RENÉE AHDIEH, Y’ALL. I’m like obsessed with her writing, and I honestly cannot wait to see what else she writes.

8. Newest fictional crush

Khalid tho…

9. Newest favourite character

Okay I’ll step away from TWatD for a question and say Lucien from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas! He’s so funny and I’d love to be best friends with him.

10. A book that made me cry

Okay well guess what: I still haven’t cried while reading a book. But the most emotional book I’ve read was Nice Girls Endure by Chris Struyk-Bonn. So powerful and gut-wrenching. It hit me a lot harder than I thought it would.

11. A book that made me happy

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell! It was just sooooo cuuuute and I was giggling like an idiot by the end of it.

12. Most beautiful books that you’ve bought or received

I’ve gotten so many pretty books because I’m a sucker for beautiful covers so here’s my top 5 (in no particular order)

  • The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
  • Eon by Alison Goodman
  • Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  • Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

13. What books do you have to read by the end of the year?

I’ve got a few that I want to read, but the top one is The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. Others include:

  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

14. Favourite book community member

I love everybody so much though??? Okay I’m gonna do what Tilly did and say the first person who came to my head which was….

Bazzi! My Danish darling ❤ Follow her bc she’s a lovely human being with lovely photos!


If you’re reading this and want to do this tag, then I TAG YOU. Go do the thing!

Have an awesome Friday ❤

~Becca

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

Leave a Reply

