5 Series I Own but Haven’t Read

I own a lot of books. I may not own as many books as a lot of book bloggers do, but I feel like I own a lot. Recently I told myself that I needed to stop buying books just because I hear they’re good, and only buy books to finish the series I’ve already bought, or books I borrowed from the library and really enjoyed.

That being said, I’ve collected a lot of series based on hype. Some I’ve started, but there are plenty that are just collecting dust… waiting to be loved… now I feel bad…

Of course I want to read all of these series – I wouldn’t have bought them if I didn’t want to – but there are certain ones that are higher up on my TBR than others. Today’s post is about the top 5, including a description from the first books and why I want to read them.

1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Cinder Description:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Why do I want to read it?

I honestly see people talk about this series everywhere. OTP descriptions, fanart – all over tumblr! It also seems like such an interesting series, but I just haven’t gotten around to picking up the first book (Cinder) yet!

2. Eon and Eona by Alison Goodman

Eon Description:

For years, Eon’s life has been focused on magical study and sword-work, with one goal: that he be chosen as a Dragoneye, an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.

But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a twelve-year-old boy. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; if anyone discovers she has been hiding in plain sight, her death is assured.

When Eon’s secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a deadly struggle for the Imperial throne. Eon must find the strength and inner power to battle those who want to take her magic… and her life.

Why do I want to read it?

It just sounds so cool and thrilling! I’m going to be so worried about Eon/Eona, like a mother. Plus I haven’t read too many dragon-y books, which I feel like needs to change, and from the description the world seems really intriguing. I posted my My Shelf Monday post about it on Monday, and I’ll say it again: I. Want. To. Read. These. Books.

3. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Curse Description:

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Why do I want to read it?

Honestly, I’ve heard some mixed things about this series, but I think it would be good to figure out my own opinion of it, ya know? During the cover-change drama I also heard that Kestrel is less of a warrior, more of a schemer, which I look forward to read about. Plus, those covers are so pretty, and I want to see if the story is as beautiful as the covers.

4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Description:

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Why do I want to read it?

I’ve owned this series for almost 2 years now, maybe more, and I have not touched any of the books (except for photos). I’ve just heard so many good things about this series, especially from Kat of Katytastic. Plus, the description is so mysterious and intriguing – I just want to know what’s going on!

5. The Reckoners by Brandon Sanderson

Steelheart Description:

Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning — and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.

Why do I want to read it?

Lucas has read the entire trilogy and absolutely loved them. He’s been telling me to read them for a long time, and it does sound pretty interesting.


What series are you looking forward to reading? Leave a comment and let’s talk about them!

~Becca

3 thoughts on “5 Series I Own but Haven’t Read

  1. I loved Eon!! It’s such a fantastic series, you should definitely get to it soon. I’m really bad with finishing series too. I start more than I finish. I still need to read the last book in Laini Taylor’s series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

