Book Review: Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins

Summer

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Date of Publication: May 17th, 2016

Dates Read: June 30 – July 2, 2016

Description:

Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m leaning more towards a 3.75 rating on this one, just because I actually think I enjoyed this anthology a little better than I liked My True Love Gave to Me, although I think it’s because my expectations were lower for this book than for its partner (since I read it before I read too many hyped-up reviews). Once again, there were some stories that I liked and some that I didn’t, but I feel like I thoroughly enjoyed more of the stories in this anthology. I tended to not like the horror-based ones, and some of the love interests I was kind of “ugh” about. That being said, it’s a cute collection of short stories, each of which appeal to different readers.

As with MTLGTM I won’t be writing a review for every single story. Instead I will list my favourites from this book!

  1. Inertia by Veronica Roth
  2. A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith
  3. The End of Love by Nina Lacour
  4. In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins
  5. Good Luck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert
  6. The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman.

Have you read Summer Days and Summer Nights? What did you think?

Thanks for reading!

~Becca

One thought on “Book Review: Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

