June Haul + July TBR

I didn’t buy a lot of books last month, so I thought I would toss together both my haul and TBR – I hope that’s okay!

Haul

IMG_5948

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

This is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I read in June and absolutely loved.

If you haven’t heard of it, it follows the story of a huntress named Feyre, who is forced to live in the faerie world with Tamlin, a faerie, after she kills a wolf to provide for her impoverished family. While in the faerie world she discovers dark creatures and even darker secrets about the land, and how she may be the key to stopping a curse plaguing both of their worlds. ACOMAF follows the events in ACOTAR, and I hear that a lot of the relationship dynamics change, so I’m excited to see what happens!

The Winner’s Kiss (The Winner’s Trilogy #3) by Marie Rutkoski 

I’ve owned the first two books for a while but still have not read them! I decided to buy the last one because I needed to get to the $25 minimum purchase to get free shipping when I bought ACOMAF haha.

I don’t know too much about this series, since I haven’t read it, but from the description of The Winner’s Curse it appears to be about a girl named Kestrel who is the daughter of a general. She buys a slave at an auction, but her purchase sets off a whole string of events that nobody could see coming, including romance. ~ooooooooh~ I’ve heard mixed things about this series, honestly, but the covers are so pretty – how do you expect me to resist???

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson 

I had originally borrowed this book from the library, but had to return it because I just got a whole bunch of books in at once and I ended up being super overwhelmed. Once again, the cover is absolutely gorgeous so I gave in and bought it when I saw it at a discounted price the other day.

Once again, I’m working off the book description here: The Unexpected Everything follows the story of Andie, the daughter of a politician who’s got her whole life planned out. Everything is perfect for her, until a scandal rocks her world and then suddenly life isn’t so perfectly planned. But the unexpected can bring about some amazing things, like Clark and a lot of dogs that need to be walked.

TBR

IMG_5946

Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins 

I’m borrowing this one from the library, because I figure it’ll be a nice, cute summer read for the cottage!

This is an anthology of short stories about summer romances, a sister to My True Love Gave to Me. Contributing authors include: Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

I absolutely loved The Wrath and the Dawn, and I’ve been meaning to read the sequel for a while. No better time to read it than after summer school has ended!

The Wrath and the Dawn tells the story of Shahrzad (Shazi), who volunteers to be the next wife of the boy-king who marries a new woman every day after killing the old one at night. Shazi is determined to take the king down, but she doesn’t expect to find out what’s truly going on with the king, or that she’d begin to fall in love with the monster who killed her best friend.

Six of Crows OR Daughter of Smoke and Bone

I’m scheduling this post (hello from the past!), and at this moment I’m not actually sure which of these books my book club will choose. Right now it seems like Six of Crows might be winning the poll, and in that case I’ll borrow it from the library. If DoSaB wins, however, then I already own it and it’ll be less of a hassle for me. Huzzah!

(spoiler alert: Six of Crows won)

I honestly know little to nothing about these books, except that the main character in DoSaB, Karou, has blue hair, and that SoC is about six criminal-types on a heist. Maybe? I guess I’ll find out when I read them!


Thanks for reading, and I hope July treats you well!

~Becca

 

Leave a Reply

