My First Book Signing and Meeting My Favourite Author

When I heard that Morgan Rhodes would be doing a launch party and book signing, I knew that I had to go. I had wanted to RSVP for the event immediately, but at the time I didn’t yet know when my summer school exam would be. My fear was that it would be on the same day as the signing. To say I would have been devastated was an understatement.

Luckily for me, my exam was on the very last day, 2 days after the event. This way not only could I attend the signing, but I would also have another full day to study! Huzzah!

So June 23rd rolled around, and I somehow convinced my friend, Jer, and my boyfriend, Lucas, to come to the signing with me. Two of my other friends, Gel and Sam, agreed to hang out with us downtown before the event.

We spent most of the day wandering to different stores – record shops, Chapters, comic book stores, thrift stores, and, of course, Starbucks! Sam and Gel headed back home at about 4PM, leaving Jer, Lucas, and I to our own devices for 3 hours. We roamed the city streets on the hot, sunny day, and ended up at a music store, where Jer bought a ukulele. After wasting some time in there, we decided to head to the book store early, Jer providing us with walking music on his cute new instrument.

It was a longer trek than we had anticipated, but we persevered and ended up at Bakka Phoenix Books an hour before the event was supposed to start. The staff were setting up for the book launch, but welcomed us in, nonetheless, so we could look around. Bakka Phoenix Books is a cute little indie book store, one of the few that I’ve been in.

IMG_3232
Lucas (back) and Jer (front) scouring the Bakka Phoenix Books shelves for their next read

With 45 minutes still remaining until the event itself, we meandered over to the ice cream shop across the street for a cool treat on the hot day. It was such a good decision, and that day I realized the value of looking at non-chain stores and eateries. You never know what treasures you’ll find!

Finally, the time had come for the event. We walked back across the street, and suddenly the shop had more than just the staff; book bloggers and lovers from the nearby area had gathered just like us, talking amongst each other and eagerly awaiting Morgan’s arrival. One of my regrets is that I didn’t talk to more people – I’m a pretty shy person when it comes to new people, so that day I had just stuck with Jer and Lucas. I wish I’d gone to talk to the other bloggers, maybe made some new friends in the bookish community, but c’est la vie.

Morgan arrived, and after she went around talking to a couple of attendees, she started the event with an introduction to A Book of Spirits and Thieves, and even read us 2 excerpts!

IMG_3233
Morgan Rhodes introduces A Book of Spirits and Thieves

After her reading we all headed to the basement of the book store for cake!

IMG_3235

After cake came the signing itself! Jer and I waited in the signing line, Lucas hanging out beside us as we advanced. Jer went first, though at this point I was too busy trying to figure out what I was going to say to her to hear what they were talking about.

And then, suddenly, it was my turn.

I pulled out the 3 books I had brought/bought to have her sign: Rebel SpringGathering Darkness, and A Book of Spirits and Thieves (ABOSAT)I’d already bought Falling Kingdoms signed, so these were the only bare ones. As she signed I rambled on about how it was my first author signing, and how my name is the same as one of the characters in ABOSAT. Seriously, I think I was fangirling too hard to be able to talk and function like a normal human being. Thankfully, Morgan took it in stride and made me feel welcome to the signing. She even agreed to take a photo with me!

IMG_3245
Me being an awkward potato, and Morgan Rhodes being a beautiful, awesome human being

After chatting with my favourite author and not winning anything in the raffle, Jer, Lucas, and I stuck around for a few more minutes. Unfortunately, we were exhausted from the sun exposure and all the walking we’d done that day, so we headed home early so we could all fall into bed.

By the way, here’s all the cool swag I got:

At the end of the day, it was a really fun event, and I’m super glad that I went. Morgan was so nice and funny, and I hope I get to meet her again soon! My copy of Frozen Tides is looking a little bare compared to the rest of the series, too, so that probably needs to be fixed…


 

Thank you all so much for reading today’s long post! Have a wonderful Wednesday ❤

~Becca

 

2 thoughts on “My First Book Signing and Meeting My Favourite Author

Leave a Reply

