Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ACOTAR

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Date of Publication: May 5, 2015

Dates Read: June 1 – June 18, 2016

Description:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★☆

I’d like to start this review off by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I can definitely understand all the hype! Sarah J. Maas has such wonderful, vibrant writing, and I’m definitely excited to read the next book, A Court of Mist and Fury (which actually arrived in the mail yesterday).

The plot was exciting and, though inspired by Beauty and the Beast, quite original and interesting. For the most part the pace was pretty good, though I do think the last 25% seemed a little rushed. I feel like more time could have been spent on the end, which would have made some of the smaller events seem less random and unnecessary (if you’re confused about what I’m talking about, you’re welcome to ask me).

The cast of characters was pretty good. Feyre got on my nerves sometimes, but ultimately I like her, and I especially like that she’s never portrayed as the ~perfect~ heroine. She has her flaws, but (most of the time) she doesn’t let her “shortcomings” stop her.

I love Lucien, he’s my baby. And right now I’m pretty “meh” about Rhysand, although I did start to like him closer to the end – a great morally grey character, at the moment. I’m wary of having an opinion of Tamlin because I’ve seen so much Tam-hate online due to ACOMAF, but for now (FOR NOW) I don’t mind him. Maybe my mind will change when I read the next book?

One of the things that bothered me about this book is that the romance just seemed too forced, especially after that big reveal/explanation of everything. There just didn’t seem to be a lot of buildup to it, unless I completely missed it.

On that note, I have come to realize that I don’t particularly enjoy big plot points being described to the main character over many consecutive pages. It just seemed too bulky, too much for such a short period of time. I kind of wish the big reveal had happened slowly, instead of all at once.

Oh, and I am so tired of reading about seeing muscles through a wet shirt, or a shirt defining muscles. I get it, he’s muscular. Can we please move on?

Okay, enough with the negatives, back to the positives.

I really like how Feyre’s relationship with her sister changes over the course of the book – it really warmed my heart.

And, okay, I’ll admit it, the steamy scenes were STEAMY. Wow. I don’t read a lot of books with super steamy scenes, and honestly it was kind of refreshing.

Even though I have listed a lot of things I didn’t like, each one is not major enough to drop my rating to 3/5, but as a whole were enough to settle me at 4/5. It is truly Maas’s beautiful writing and creative storytelling that saved this book for me.

Overall: Not perfect, but still wonderful; I’m excited to start the next one!

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

