Writing Every Day in July/August – Challenge!

Good morning friends, and happy Friday to one and all!

Today’s post is going to be about a little challenge I’ve created for myself, although if there are others who want to join in then I may turn it into an actual event.

So as some of you may or may not know, I consider myself to be a writer. I’ve always done really well in English class, I was in my high school’s writing club, I’ve read poems and stories to crowds, and I’ve even had a short story published in an anthology called Order of Beings.

Lately, however, I haven’t had time to do the creative writing that I used to do, spending my time on school, work, writing articles for a student life website, and blogging. I’ve barely had time to read, too!

Last week I quit the student life writing, and next week school ends. That means more free time in July and August.

So, to make up for the year and a half that I haven’t been creative writing, I’m challenging myself to write every day for the last 2 months of summer. And, don’t worry, I do have a project I plan to work on: The CBC has their annual Short Story competition starting in September, so my main focus will be on my submission. If I’m inspired to work on a novel (as it’s still a dream of mine to write and publish a novel), then I’ll write that, too!

At the end of each day I’ll wrap up how many words I’ve written and my thoughts on my progress. If more people are interested in joining the challenge, I may do weekly writing prompts to help people get their creative juices flowing! But if I’m alone in this, then I’m happy with that, too.

Honestly, I’m just excited to start writing again.

While summer schools winds down I’ll be planning and outlining my short story entry, but once it’s July 1st you bet your butt that I’ll be a writing machine! Hopefully.

If you’re interested in joining/think I should make this an ~actual~ event, let me know!

EDIT – JUNE 27, 2016

Hello! Due to the number of people who have gotten back to me about participating, I have decided to make the writing challenge an ~official~ event in August. This is because I will be without wi-fi for a week in July, which will make updating the challenge harder. Plus, running a challenge for 2 months will be difficult to do, so one month I think is good enough.

You are still welcome to challenge yourself to write every day in July, just as I am challenging myself, but I won’t be posting writing prompts or daily updates until August!

If you have any questions, please let me know and I will answer as quickly as I can! I will make an official challenge post near the end of July, so look out for that!

Thank you very much for reading, and I wish you all a wonderful weekend.

Cheers!

~Becca

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Every Day in July/August – Challenge!

Leave a Reply

