NY Times by the Book Tag

Happy Friday!

I was inspired to do this tag  by Jesse the Reader once again – you’ll probably notice that I’ll get a lot of the tags I do from him, because it seems like he and I both really like tags!

Anyway, let’s jump right into it.

1. What book is currently on your nightstand?

Funny enough, it’s The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. As a predominantly YA reader, some of you may be surprised to find a semi-religious book on my bedside table. This is actually my aunt’s book, but she lent it to me because she thinks I’ll like it. It’s basically about the women of the Bible, specifically Dinah, the daughter of Jacob. I think what really intrigued me the most about it was the fact that it’s focused on the lives of the women, whereas the Bible is focused on the men. I have yet to pick it up, but I should probably get to it soon so I can return it to her…

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

The last book that I read and LOVED was Radio Silence by Alice Oseman! You can read my review about it here, but in summary it is such an important book for students and basically anyone in my ~generation~. I hope more people get to read it!

3. If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would it be and what would you want to know?

This is a super tough one! Jane Austen would be fun to listen to, to hear her talk about her life and how she wrote in a time where writing was a man’s world. I’ve already met Morgan Rhodes at the A Book of Spirits and Thieves book launch (story to come later), but I’d love to sit down at a coffee shop with her and just talk about the writing process.

4. What book might people be surprised to find on your bookshelf?

I mean I’ve gotten rid of a lot of the books that I don’t want to read in my last unhaul, but I do have a couple of books on how to draw chibis! I went through a phase when I was like 12 where I just drew everyone in chibi form. I haven’t touched those books in years!

5. How do you organize your personal library?

My shelves are first separated by fantasy/sci-fi and realistic/contemporary fiction. There are also reference books on the shelf in my closet. After that, the books on my bookshelves are organized alphabetically by author, and then if I have multiple authors they’re sorted by series and order of release. Kind of confusing, but for example the Falling Kingdoms series would come before the A Book of Spirits and Thieves trilogy (both by Morgan Rhodes), and then the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan would come after.

6. What book have you been meaning to read but haven’t gotten around to yet?

I got the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy for my birthday last year and I have no idea when I’ll actually get to read it. Sometimes I totally forget I have it, too. I do want to read it, but when is difficult to decide since I have so many other books I want to read!

7. What book did you feel like you were supposed to like but just didn’t?

Everyone seemed to really love Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, but 100 pages in I wasn’t really feeling it. I wanted to love it, too, but it wasn’t sitting right with me. I would like to give it another try some time in the future, though.

8. What kind of stories are you drawn to, and which do you stay away from?

Right now I really love fantasy and sci-fi books that are full of adventure with a hint of romance, while horror and thrillers are not really my cup of tea.

9. If you could require the President/Prime Minister to read one book, which would it be?

This is also tough. I’m thinking I’d make Prime Minister Trudeau read a book about First Nations people by a Native Canadian, but I am also guilty of not having read one. Maybe he and I could read Birdie by Tracey Lindberg and learn together?

10. What book do you plan to read next?

Up next I plan to read The Red Tent, and The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi!


Do you want to do this tag? Then *BAM* you are now tagged!

Thank you very much for reading, and don’t forget to leave your blog suggestions on yesterday’s post.

Have an awesome weekend, everyone!

~Becca

Leave a Reply

