Book Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Princess X

Publisher: Scholastic INC

Date of Publication: June 1, 2015

Dates Read: December 29th-30th, 2015

Description:

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon – her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★★

I picked up this book at a comic book store on a whim, vaguely remembering someone talk about it once on some website. I then picked it up a couple of days before the end of 2015 because it’s only 227 pages long and I only needed to read 1 more book to complete my 2015 Goodreads Challenge.

And I must say, even if I had picked this book up last summer when I was reading for leisure, I probably still would not have wanted to put it down like I did those 2 days. I probably would have finished it faster, actually.

It was wonderful, and much more complicated than I expected.

I’m really not sure what I imagined this book was about when I first read the description. Girl loses friend, girl finds out friends is still alive 3 years later. I had no idea how this would play out.

First of all, my only real complaint about this book is that there didn’t seem to be too much conflict, maybe some operations went too smoothly, but it was such a fun adventure that I didn’t really care.

Anyway, onto why I love this book.

Firstly, the illustrations are awesome. The colour scheme of this book is so appealing to me, and the graphic novel-ish pages just add another way to immerse yourself in the story. Kudos to whoever decided they should be in this story, because it was such a good idea.

The characters were distinctive, funny, and heart warming. Though the story mainly focussed on May’s experience, there were odd chapters that centred on 2 other characters. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about them, but as the story progressed I began to understand their necessity, so I rolled with it. Their interactions were pretty realistic, as far as I could tell, and idk what else to say. I just really enjoyed reading about these characters. I know someone mentioned that the slang talk could be a little annoying, but I loved it and it made the dialogue between these young characters just seem more real.

Also, might I add that there was absolutely no romance in this story? None. Zero. Not one drop of romance. Not as far as I could tell, anyway. I think sometimes characters are described as cute, or given some rating of attractiveness, but it’s played off like more of a general observation than a “wow he’s hot we should make out”. This is a story of a girl trying to find her best friend, who’s so focussed on trying to be reunited with her that romance is pretty much never on her mind. I like a good romance, but this was an A+ move.

The plot was more action packed than I initially thought it would be, and made for a thrilling adventure that I didn’t want to stop reading. I needed to know what happened. I needed to know how it ended. Like I said in the beginning, a couple more obstacles would have been nice, but for its length it was still jam packed. Also, it kind of turned out to be dark, which I wasn’t expecting. But it was also very clever, how things played out and how the clues were given and understood. For good reason, obviously.

Overall: So much better than I was expecting, 10/10 would recommend.


This review was originally posted on my booklr on December 30th, 2015

3 thoughts on “Book Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Leave a Reply

