My Shelf Monday: The Gypsy King Trilogy by Maureen Fergus

Publisher: Penguin Canada

Description (from The Gypsy King):

A runaway slave with a shadowy past, sixteen-year-old Persephone has spent four long years toiling beneath the leering gaze of her despised owner and dreaming of a life where she is free to shape her own destiny. Then, one night, a chance encounter with a handsome chicken thief named Azriel changes her life forever.

Sold to him for a small bag of gold coins, Persephone soon discovers what she already suspected: namely, that Azriel is not what he seems. And when she realizes that he believes Persephone has a special destiny—she is determined to escape him and his impossibly broad shoulders.

But things are no longer as simple as they once were. Torn between her longing for freedom and her undeniable feelings for the handsome thief with the fast hands and the slow smile, Persephone faces the hardest choice she will ever have to make. And no one least of all her—could have imagined the shocking truth her decision will reveal.

Where did I get it from?

All of them are from Chapters!

Why did I get it?

I really don’t even remember how I heard about these books – I think I saw the Gypsy King on a trip to the bookstore, and the description was enough to convince me to buy it.

Have I read it?

Yes ||| No

I have read The Gypsy King, but I have yet to finish the rest of the trilogy.

What did I think of it?

TGK was actually really good! My review for the first book is on Goodreads. I had started reading the second book about three years ago, but I started getting really nervous about what was happening to the characters, so I put it down and haven’t picked it up again since.

Who do I recommend this for?

  • People who like high fantasy
  • People who like romance
  • People who like adventure

My Shelf Monday is a weekly post on my blog in which I discuss one of the books/series that I own. It’s a way to catalogue my book collection, and it also acts as a slow, miniature tour of my shelves.

Thanks for reading!

~Becca

Leave a Reply

