Coffee Book Tag

Happy Friday, friends!

Today I’m going to be doing the Coffee Book Tag. I wasn’t actually tagged by anyone, but I saw Jesse the Reader do it so I thought “why the heck not?”

1. BLACK: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

For this one I’m going to go with Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I swear every single review I’ve seen for this book (which is going to be a series, I believe, with Wayfarer coming out January of next year) has been like 5 stars, but when I tried to read it I just couldn’t get into it. I will probably give it another shot in the future, but right now I’m 100 pages into it and I’m having a hard time actually getting into it.

2. PEPPERMINT MOCHA: Name a book that gets more popular during the holiday seasons.

Personally I really liked the Let It Snow anthology by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. I read it during the summer, funny enough, but it’s definitely one of those books that bookstores puts on their displays during the Winter holidays.

3. HOT CHOCOLATE: What’s your favourite children’s book/series?

My favourite books when I was a kid were the Dear Dumb Diary books by Jim Benton. These books were my SHIZ! I thought Jamie Kelly was so funny and so relatable. I re-read them when I was like 14 and I still loved them. Now I want to buy them all…

4. DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Recently this was The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. This book had my heart pounding and I was always so worried about Shazi! I really need to pick up The Rose and the Dagger soon so I can finish this duology!

5. STARBUCKS: Name a book that you see everywhere.

The Harry Potter series is everywhere. Legit. Sometimes I feel like I’m missing something big when I see all the different editions and headcanons, because I haven’t finished the series. Other times I feel like I don’t even need to read them because I’ve already been spoiled for pretty much every aspect of that series. Just today I went to Coles with my cousin and when we saw them on display he said to me “they still display them like that?” Honestly, finding out today that he also hasn’t finished the books makes me feel a lot better.

6. HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: Give a book by an indie author a shoutout.

I will always shout out one of my new favourite authors Riley Redgate! I got an ebook copy of Seven Ways We Lie from NetGalley, and it was honestly one of the best books I read in 2015. Different sexualities, taking on slut shaming, dramatic without ever being too much. Loved it. Do the thing and read it!

7. DECAF: Name a book that you were expecting a little bit more from.

The first book that came to mind for this one is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. I actually think that I just expected too much because of the hype, so when I finally read it I was sort of let down. Look, I recognize that it is an important book, and I would still recommend it to people, but I wouldn’t try to overhype it like everyone else seems to.

8. PERFECT BLEND: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but was ultimately satisfying.

I’m going to go with the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes for this last question! It’s my favourite for a reason – it’s such a good blend of romance, action, and politics. All of the books either have 4 or 5 stars, so while they’re not always perfect as a whole they make the perfect blend of things I like and things I don’t like (mostly things I like, obviously)

 

Leave a Reply

