My Shelf Monday: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist

Publisher: Picador

Description:

On an autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives at a grand house in Amsterdam to begin her new life as the wife of wealthy merchant Johannes Brandt. Though curiously distant, he presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift; a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations ring eerily true.

As Nella uncovers the secrets of her new household, she realizes the escalating dangers they face. The miniaturist seems to hold their fate in her hands – but does she plan to save or destroy them?

Where did I get it from?

I bought it from a used bookstore downtown!

Why did I get it?

I really only bought it because the pages are blue

IMG_4603

I remember hearing about it before, but not enough to make the description the reason why I bought it.

Have I read it?

Yes ||| No

Why haven’t I read it?

Like I said, I bought it more for the blue pages than the description because I’m shallow like that.

Where is it on my TBR?

Honestly, this book probably would’ve been in my unhaul if it weren’t for how nice this edition is. In other words, it’s near the bottom, so I probably won’t be reading it anytime soon.


 

My Shelf Monday is a weekly post on my blog in which I discuss one of the books/series that I own. It’s a way to catalogue my book collection, and it also acts as a slow, miniature tour of my shelves.

Thanks for reading!

~Becca

Leave a Reply

