Book Review: The Sway by Ruby Knight

The Sway

Publisher: Penner Publishing

Date Published: May 17, 2016

Dates Read: May 17 – May 23, 2016

Description:

Her mission is to get close to him for inside information.

His mission is to kidnap her for a supernatural militant group.

Recruited in her teens for a life of espionage, Julia Caldwell, now 19, is the youngest CIA agent on record. Her mission is simple: get close to Cole Thomas for intel on his father, a known and dangerous weapons dealer. As she grows closer to Cole, something is off. He might not be who she thinks he is. And worse, his mission will put an end to hers.

Always believing the government’s story that her purpose in life was to keep the world safe, Julia doesn’t know who to trust or who to believe. But now, THE SWAY has a different story—a different purpose for her—that goes well beyond all she ever imagined.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes and Noble

Note: I received an ebook copy of this book from Penner Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m sad that I didn’t like this book more. The description was really intriguing, but unfortunately the writing just didn’t deliver for me.

First and foremost, the pacing was way too fast. A lot of the events that occurred did so at an unnatural speed – big decisions were made too soon, the romance was rushed, missions went too smoothly. An explanation was given for the quick romance, but I am personally not very convinced by it. I wish the pace had been slowed down, the events written out more clearly and better. I understand that Julia’s brain works very quickly, and the writing kind of reflects that, but going at that speed made reading the story very confusing, and it almost felt like I was missing some important information at the speed we were going.

On that note, a lot of the events seemed either like filler or were just really unnecessary. I’m sorry, but realistically you’re not going to go on a romantic getaway just before you have to save the world. Maybe I’m just tired of cliche, predictable romances, though.

Another thing I’d like to apologize for: I really don’t like Julia. I can understand why she’d be confused at certain parts, but a lot of the time I found her internal monologues annoying and, frankly, childish for a 19 year old who has apparently been part of the CIA since she was 13. Also, she could be very rude to the father of her new boyfriend. I cringed whenever she called him names, and I’m very surprised that people were okay with such disrespect. Honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of a lot of the characters, except maybe for Harrison and Quade, though we didn’t get to see too much of them. They were all just kind of 2-Dimensional, nothing spectacular about them except for their powers.

One of the things that bothered me the most about this book was the beginning, where Julia brings up how she’s a top-notch CIA agent who isn’t supposed to have feelings. For a long time she brought this up almost every other paragraph. “I’m having feelings for this boy! But I’m not supposed to have feelings! I was trained to not have feelings!” That’s all fine and dandy the first time it’s mentioned, but it just got annoying after a while, especially when I just wanted to continue with the story.

The reason why I’m even giving this book 2 stars is because of the plot as a whole. I really only continued reading the story for the main plot, because I do like superheroes and superpowers and saving the world things. I just wish the rest of the writing had been able to complement it.

Overall: Good idea, poor execution.

One thought on “Book Review: The Sway by Ruby Knight

Leave a Reply

