Currently Reading: 20/05/2016

Hello friends! I apologize for the late Friday post, it’s been a busy week.

I thought that today I would briefly discuss the two books I’m reading so far: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner and The Sway by Ruby Knight.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Description:

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

How far am I?

12%

Why did I start reading it?

I’m trying to participate in the #BenTayReadalong for this book, although at my current rate I don’t think I’ll be finishing it on time. Woops.

What are my thoughts so far?

I’m not very far into it, but I am enjoying it so far – especially the characters! I haven’t yet found anything I dislike. Hopefully this keeps up!

 

The Sway by Ruby Knight

Description

Recruited in her teens for a life of espionage, Julia Caldwell, now 19, is theyoungest CIA agent on record. Her mission is simple: get close to Cole Thomas for intel on his father, a known and dangerous weapons dealer. As she grows closer to Cole, something is off. He might not be who she thinks he is. And worse, his mission will put an end to hers.

Always believing the government’s story that her purpose in life was to keep the world safe, Julia doesn’t know who to trust or who to believe. But now, THE SWAY has a different story—a different purpose for her—that goes well beyond all she ever imagined.

How far am I?

63%

Why did I start reading it?

I requested it from NetGalley, and because it’s an ebook it’s easy to read when I’m out, and since I’ve been out a lot lately it’s been my go-to book.

What are my thoughts so far?

I’m not loving this one as much as my other CR. The idea of the story is cool, but the execution isn’t cutting it for me. I don’t like the main character at all, either. I do, however, like how quickly I’m getting through it – so it’s not bad enough to make me stop reading entirely. Small victories, right?


Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful weekend.

~Becca

Leave a Reply

