Book Review: Ms Marvel volumes 1-3 by G. Willow Wilson

Publisher: Marvel

Publishing Dates: October 30th, 2014; April 7th, 2015; June 23rd, 2015

Dates Read: January 30th-February 2nd; February 7th-8th; February 10th.

Description (from Ms. Marvel volume 1):

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

My Ratings:

Volume 1: ★★★★☆

Volume 2: ★★★★★

Volume 3: ★★★★☆

Overall, I really enjoyed this series! It totally lived up to all the hype I’d heard about it.

I really really love all the characters in this series. They’re just so loveable and relatable, and their dialogue seems so natural, so real. Kamala is a wonderful main character, and I like that when she gets her powers it’s not like she knows how to use them right away. She reacts how I think any teenager would react to getting powers, making the whole situation more realistic.

The art is bright and colourful and so very lively. It’s got the classic comic lines and shapes, but it’s still pretty modern. Love love love the art.

Like everyone else, the diversity in these books is what really won me over. I’m an anthropology student, so love learning about other cultures and religions that aren’t my own. I mean, I can’t really judge whether or not it was super accurate, but having all these different terms being used (and defined for my white Catholic ass) made the story that much more fun and, again, realistic. But even the amount of secondary characters that had different skin tones and hair styles and other characteristics that made them different was wonderful.

I gave volume 1 4/5 stars because I think I’m still a little confused as to how Kamala got her powers. I think I might just be too new to this side of the Marvel universe to really understand it, though.

Volume 2 was definitely my favourite. It had a nice flow to it and watching Kamala grow into her powers was so much fun. Plus, it was cool to see Wolverine.

Volume 3 I gave 4/5 stars to on Goodreads because I feel like the beginning with Loki was just so disconnected from the rest of the book. Like, it really just felt like an excuse to have him come in, but it didn’t quite sit well with me.

Overall: Love this series, and I look forward to reading more!


This review was originally posted on my booklr on February 13th, 2016.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ms Marvel volumes 1-3 by G. Willow Wilson

Leave a Reply

