Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Hopeless

Publisher: Colleen Hoovers; Smashwords

Publication Date: December 19th, 2012

Dates Read: January 15 – February 13

Description:

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Buy It From: Chapters | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

My Rating: ★★★★☆

(really more of a 4.5 – Goodreads, get on those half stars)

I don’t really know what I was expecting from this book, but it wasn’t what it gave me. I didn’t expect it to be so heavy, so heart wrenching. But it’s okay because I loved every second of it.

I know a lot of people thought the beginning was boring, but I really didn’t mind it, especially since a lot of what happened then was explained later on. It’s the kind of book that really doesn’t make much sense until the very end.

I’ve also seen some complaints about there being “too much” drama, but I think that the drama was perfect and worked well. Seriously, though, do people enjoy books with no drama? I personally find books boring when nothing much happens. To each their own, I guess.

Anyway, it opens up as the story of girl meets boy and deals with high school, but it gets much, much more intense and complicated later on. Like I said, I didn’t realize how much it would hurt me, but it did.

Some of the decisions Sky and Dean made probably weren’t the smartest (particularly one of the times they chose to do the sexy-times), and at first I didn’t really like Dean, because he seemed really creepy and I was worried he’d be abusive. But seeing how much he honestly cared about Sky and how much he hated hurting her made me really root for their relationship. (He still shouldn’t have been so creepy, and he also could’ve not had so many outbursts like that, especially when he didn’t really know her, but I’m pretty satisfied by his reasonings, and he did apologize and his random outbursts stopped, so that’s good.) Overall I liked the cast of characters, though I wish we’d seen more of Six. And I did like Sky, how she didn’t give a shit but also did.

I’m not really sure what else I can say. The romantic scenes were super romantic (kinda steamy) and made my heart melt and made me miss my boyfriend. When the big revelations come into play my heart was racing and I kept reading forward, rushing to find out what happens and how this story ends.

Oh, and the only other thing I really have to complain about is that sometimes the descriptions took a little too long to get through. At the beginning I was fine with them, but near the end I just started skipping the paragraphs of describing feelings and read only what the characters were saying, which was the stuff that really kept the plot going. I was probably just too impatient, though.

Overall: I really really liked this book. Loved it, I guess. Lived it. (hehehe get it?)


This review was originally posted on my booklr on February 14th, 2016

One thought on “Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

